chicken with jalapeno sauce.

Y’all. Whew. I’ve been busy as a bee, and have hardly had time in the evenings to catch up on “my stories” much less cook. I am a master meal planner and Sunday grocery shopper, but lately I’ve just not had the time nor the will! I think Matt and I were both relieved when my effort for supper last night turned out to be great — I just feel out of practice and out of sync with cooking, so it was a toss up on how all this would go. Please tell me I’m not the only one who feels at a loss in front of the stove after it’s been awhile. Bueller? Bueller?

Anyway, this sauce really helps rid you of the “chicken is boring” blues, though next time I might serve it with something a little less blah than brown rice. On the one hand, you want the sauce to stand out but on the other… brown rice is just bland. I really like that this is a lighter sauce that feels like it’s really bad for you. And don’t be afraid of the jalapenos; they add a great flavor but this sauce is not at all spicy.

photographs well, doesn't it?

Chicken with Jalapeno Cream Sauce
via How Sweet Eats

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
2 tablespoons canola oil
2 jalapenos, seeded and chopped
1 shallot, sliced
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 tablespoons butter
1 tablespoon flour
1/4 cup skim milk
1 12-ounce can fat-free evaporated milk
2 tablespoons finely grated parmesan cheese

Add chopped jalapenos, shallots and garlic to a food processor and pulse until very finely chopped (not pureed). Set aside.

Pat chicken breasts completely dry with paper towels. Season on both sides with salt and pepper. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat and add 1 tablespoon canola oil. Once the oil is hot, add chicken breasts and cook for about 8-10 minutes per side, until each side is caramelized and golden. If needed, use the remaining canola oil when flipping the chicken.

While the chicken is cooking, heat a small saucepan over medium heat and add butter. Once sizzling, add in the chopped jalapeno mixture, stirring to coat, and cook for 2-3 minutes, stirring occasionally. Once fragrant, whisk in flour and stir continuously to create a roux. Cook mixture for 1-2 minutes, then add in milks, reducing the heat to medium-low. Continue to stir continuously until mixture begins to thicken (about 6-8 minutes), adding in parmesan cheese and reducing the heat even more. Once the desired thickness has been reached, turn off heat. Stir every so often – it may thicken even more while sitting – and you can add additional milk to thin it out if needed. Taste and season with salt and pepper as desired. (I added in some seasoned salt as it really needed some oomph, I thought.)

You’re slowly changing your mind about chicken, aren’t you?
jcristg

2 thoughts on “chicken with jalapeno sauce.

  1. I cannot wait to try this! My husband is always saying how much he hates “boring chicken dishes” and since he ADORES jalapenos – I think I’ll win with this one. Thanks for sharing!

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

