salted caramel chocolate chunk cookies.

Sometimes you just feel like baking, dang it. And last night was that way for me. I had no real reason to make this (huge) batch of cookies, but I feel sure the recipients will be delighted at my randomness. I sent Christina a photo last night, and she commented that it looked like I’d crammed a whole candy bar in each cookie. Let me tell you, these are not for the faint at heart or the casual chocolate taster. You’re going to want to make these if you can’t ever get enough chocolate, as these might just take care of that craving.

First things first though: have you discovered the Trader Joe’s Salted Caramel sauce? It’s one of the top reasons I keep Christina around, as she’s my TJ’s source until Columbia gets up with the times, man.

To the cookies!

Salted Caramel Chocolate Chunk Cookies
via Framed Cooks
2 sticks softened butter
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 cup packed light brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 1/2 tablespoons pure vanilla
1/4 cup caramel sauce
3 3/4 cup all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
12 oz bag mini chocolate chips
1 1/2 cups chocolate chunks or chunk-size chopped good quality chocolate
Sea salt

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a stand or electric mixer, beat the butter and sugars until well combined. Beat in the eggs and vanilla following the caramel sauce until well combined.

2. Place the flour, salt and baking soda into a large bowl; mix. Slowly add to wet ingredients then add the mini chocolate chips.

3. Place 1/4 cup of cookie dough on a cookie sheet. Press down then sprinkle with a pinch or two of sea salt then press chocolate chunks over top.

4. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until just golden around edges. Remove and let cool for 5 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack.

My notes:

  • In case you can’t tell from the amount of flour and sugar and butter, these make a ton of cookies. I don’t use a cookie scoop and so my sizes vary, but I made 6+ dozen of pretty good size cookies.
  • I used dark brown sugar on accident. Whoops.

C is for cookie and that’s good enough for me…
jcristg

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...