Coconut Pecan Blondies

We don’t normally post on Fridays, but if your week has been anything like mine, I thought you might be in need of a quick and easy treat to throw together tonight. I have this tendency to bake in the late evenings… I don’t buy a lot of sweet things to keep around the house, largely because I don’t have much of a sweet tooth (I’ll take salty over sweet any day). But, when I am in the mood for something sweet, I need it immediately – which would explain why I’ve spent many a Friday night up to my elbows in flour until 10pm.

I made these blondies a couple weeks ago. I had been thinking that blondies sounded good for a few days (I mean, what DOESN’T sound good about a blondie? It’s basically just a giant, extra thick, chewy, brown sugar-y cookie!)… and on Saturday night, just as I was settling into a couple new magazines and some HGTV, I realized I needed a blondie, and I needed it NOW. Thankfully, the batter only took about 3 minutes to throw together, and about 20 minutes to bake, so I didn’t have to hulk out in anger while I waited.

Of course, I modified the recipe I used. Please pretend to be shocked.

Coconut Pecan Blondies
Makes… as many blondies as you cut the pan into.
Original recipe here
My pin here

1 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 t salt

1 stick of butter, melted and cooled
1 cup brown sugar (packed)
1 egg
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup shredded sweetened coconut
1 cup chopped pecans

1.) Preheat your oven to 350°. In a mixing bowl, stir the melted butter and brown sugar together until fully combined. Add the egg and vanilla extract, and mix well.

2.) In a separate bowl, whisk your flour and salt together. Then, add the dry mixture to the wet mixture, and gently combine the two with a spatula, until they are just combined.

3.) Add the coconut and chopped pecans, and gently fold them into the mixture.

4.) Spray an 8×8 pan with cooking spray (or you can butter and flour it if you prefer). I actually used a 10×10 pan here, because it was what I had, but I wish I had had the 8×8, so the blondies would’ve been a bit thicker and more gooey. Scoop the batter into the prepared pan, and spread it out as evenly as possible.

5.) Bake for about 25 minutes, until the edges are lightly browned, and the center has just set. You want these to be slightly underbaked, so they stay nice and gooey! I’d start checking on them around 15 minutes, to be sure you’re not overbaking them.

6.) Let the blondies cool completely, cut into bars, and serve!

Behold the buttery deliciousness!

Of course, you can switch these up however you’d like. You can replace the pecans with chocolate, if you want… you can use something like heath bar bits or tiny reese’s cups, in place of the coconut and pecans. You could even leave out the mixed-in ingredients all together, and instead top the bars with a chocolate ganache (I am now wishing I had come up with that idea earlier). Use whatever sounds delicious to you! My personal recommendation would be to cut into the bars while they’re still warm, scoop one into a bowl, and top it with vanilla ice cream. But I don’t want to infringe on your Personal Dessert Decisions, of course.

Congratulations on making it through another week! You totally deserve a treat.

Blondies for President!,
Tina

One thought on “Coconut Pecan Blondies

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

