honey bourbon crock pot chicken.

Well, hello Internets.
I’d like to tell you I’ve been off on some grand adventure and haven’t had time for blogging but that would be a lie. I’m currently in Technology Hell – with a dead laptop and a dead Garmin watch, and both are as frustrating as you might imagine. I did get my laptop fixed, and in the midst of trying to fix my Garmin, somehow brought on the PC Blue Screen of Death. I mostly wanted to cry, and so I put it away and haven’t touched it since. I couldn’t stand the idea of losing my beloved camera too, so I have no new and exciting pictures either.

But what I CAN tell you about, is the game Draw Something. Have you seen this yet? Are you ready to have your lives changed? I have laughed myself into tears more times in the last 5 days than I have in quite some time. And with masterpieces like this, surely you can understand why.

Anyway.

I made this pulled chicken in the crock pot this weekend, and it was delightful. I doubled the recipe so that we’d have some leftovers, and it reheated well. I was curious as to whether the bourbon would overwhelm the other flavors, but was really happy that it did not. This is definitely going into my recipe vault.

 

Honey-Bourbon Pulled Chicken

via Healthy Delicious

1 cup Ketchup
1/4 small Onion, minced
1/4 cup Bourbon
1 Tablespoon Honey
1 Tablespoon Apple Cider Vinegar
1 Tablespoon Molasses (I used maple syrup)
1 teaspoon Tomato Paste
1 teaspoon Worcestershire Sauce
2 Garlic Cloves, smashed
1/4 teaspoon Ground Ginger
1 pinch Cayenne Pepper
1 pinch Salt
2 (approx. 1 lb.) boneless, skinless Chicken Breasts
1 teaspoon Butter
4 Sandwich Rolls, preferably whole wheat
Pickle Slices for serving (optional)

Combine all ingredients except chicken in your slow cooker. Mix well. Season the chicken breasts with salt and pepper, and then add, turning so they are coated with the sauce.

Cover and cook on low for 8 hours. Use the back of a wooden spoon (or two forks) to gently shred the chicken. Stir so that the shredded chicken is evenly coated with the sauce. Set slow cooker to warm and let chicken stand for 15 minutes to soak up the sauce.

While the chicken is resting, melt the butter in a large saute pan set over medium heat. Add the sandwich rolls, cut side down, and cook until lightly toasted – about 3 minutes.

Serve the pulled chicken on the toasted rolls. Top with pickle slices, if desired.

I promise I will be back before the week is up, with legit photographs and not just (very talented and intuitive) drawings,
jcristg

2 thoughts on “honey bourbon crock pot chicken.

  1. Pingback: peach bourbon pan sauce. « The Dough Will Rise Again

  2. Pingback: pepper glazed goat cheese gratin. « The Dough Will Rise Again

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

