Baked Spaghetti

Spaghetti is one of my favorite comfort foods. In my family, it was the Sunday supper, the Christmas night supper, and something my mom kept in the freezer for a rainy day. I’ve adopted its importance into my own new family, and fortunately Matt would eat spaghetti every night of the week if I’d fix it. The boy loves him some sketti. I’ve looked for a good baked spaghetti recipe for ages, and finally came across this one on Salad In a Jar. I made some changes but WOW this one is a hit and a keeper for sure. Baked Spaghetti
adapted from Salad in a Jar

Ingredients

  • 8 ounces uncooked spaghetti
  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 jar of spaghetti sauce (I used Bertolli Vidalia Onion)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • small red pepper, chopped
  • small onion, chopped
  • dash of red pepper flakes
  • 8 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • Fresh grated Parmesan cheese
  • French Fried Onions (small can)
Cook spaghetti according to package directions and set aside.
Saute the pepper and onion in oil until beginning to get tender. Salt and pepper the ground beef and add to the vegetables to brown. Once browned, drain excess grease and add spaghetti sauce. Mix well.
In a small bowl, mix the milk with the cream cheese.
Grease an 11×13 pyrex dish and assemble:
  • a thin layer of spaghetti sauce in the bottom of the dish
  • spaghetti
  • cream cheese mixture
  • beef/sauce mixture
  • top with parmesan
Bake at 350 for 25 minutes. Remove from oven and top with french fried onions. Bake 5 more minutes but watch closely that the onions don’t burn.
— jcristg
2 thoughts on “Baked Spaghetti

  1. I love you for ever. Dinner recipes at my fingertips…..I’ll start with the spaghetti one. Seems simple enough.

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

