Tina’s Easy Baked Chicken

Have you noticed how high food prices have gone as of late? Don’t get me wrong, they’ve been escalating for awhile now but all of the sudden they are just out of control. In an effort to curtail my grocery store budget – which has a tendency to get, uh, kind of excessive if I don’t pay attention — I’m working to use what I have, and not waste food just because I don’t feel like cooking it. I long ago adopted a meal planning sort of lifestyle, and I’ve recently tried to combine the weekly sale pages with my planning. I’ve had varying ranges of success with this line of thinking, but I’m soldiering on.

All that said, last night I faced down a package of chicken that I just didn’t really know what I wanted to do with. I planned to roast some broccoli that we never got around to eating last week, and supplement with a box of risotto (an easy way out when I don’t feel like dealing with the real thing), and I found myself whining to Christina on the heytell. I am forever asking her for ideas for supper, and I usually just ignore her suggestions, or find reasons I don’t want to fix something. (why is she friends with me again?)

“Why don’t you baste it with some honey mustard, coat it in panko and bake it?” she asked me.

And I had to admit, that sounded pretty good. Once I forced a few more specifics out of her, I got to work. Man, am I glad I took her advice. We had an easy, tasty supper and I’ve got chicken leftover for lunches this week.

She is likely thinking her fortune has changed, and I might start taking her advice more often. I hope she’s not holding her breath.

Tina’s Easy Baked Chicken

Chicken breasts, seasoned
1/4 cup dijon mustard
2ish tbsp honey
1 cup panko bread crumbs

Preheat the oven to 350, and grease a baking rack over a cookie sheet.

Pour panko onto a plate.

Mix mustard and honey to taste. (you might like plain yellow mustard, or you might like more honey. or you might get crazy and use a really spicy mustard.) Baste onto seasoned chicken breasts and then dredge in panko. Place chicken onto baking rack.

Bake for 30-40 minutes, depending on the thickness of your chicken.

{totally unrelated side note: are you on the heytell? It’s basically Nextel walkie-talkie phones for 2011 and I love it. Available on droid and iphone — try it!}

— jcristg

 

One thought on “Tina’s Easy Baked Chicken

  1. This is my go-to method for fish. I have an Herbes de Provence mustard that I use and it’s wonderful. Feel free to post about this and call it Rhiannon’s Easy Baked Fish.

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

