You Need This: Immersion Blender

I live in a fairly small house, that has a small-ish kitchen. I’m not talking Manhattan-studio sized, but rather Small-Suburban-Starter-House sized. It’s a petite kitchen, if you will. I have already shared with you the heart-wrenchingly sad story of how I don’t have a dishwasher… which means I don’t have a TON of storage, either.

Considering my love for cooking, I am willing to make space for quite a few kitchen appliances (a large food processor, a stand mixer, a good blender, a decent-sized collection of pots and pans), but I simply refuse to waste money or space on single-use items, no matter how small they may be. I mean, I have plenty of ziploc bags, why do I need an onion-shaped tupperware container to house the unused half of my onion? Insanity, I say.

One of the tools that I LOVE – that doesn’t take up much space, helps with lots of tasks, and is easy to clean without a dishwasher? The immersion blender. I have this one, in white, and it is one of my favorite kitchen tools. You can easily spend $100 on an immersion blender – but there are lots of options in the $25-$40 range that will do the job just as well. In the winter, I make soups like it’s my JOB – and the idea of dirtying a cutting board AND a big pot AND a blender, AND AND AND, makes me want to throw in the towel, put in an emergency order with Jimmy John’s, and sob into my turkey sub. MY LIFE IS HARD, YOU GUYS.

Anyways, the immersion blender does the job of a big blender – without me having to haul out the heavy base and blender, without me having to wash yet another container, and without me risking burning the skin off my arms as I attempt to pour burning hot soup into the blender. I primarily use it to blend soups, sauces, and make salad dressings (a great example is caesar dressing, one of my favorites – without the immersion blender, I’d be mincing garlic until my fingers bled, to prevent having giant chunks in the dressing) – but they can also be used to make milkshakes and smoothies, and things like that. The blade end pops right off the handle, and washes up in no time.

If you like to cook, having an immersion blender will kind of change your life. And for only $30? Lay off the Starbucks for a week, save up your latte pennies, and buy one. Trust me, you need it.

*Photo borrowed from here.

5 thoughts on “You Need This: Immersion Blender

  1. I don’t know how I lived without my immersion blender. Also: I got you an onion shaped tupperware for Christmas. Sorry about that.

    • I will lovingly store my half-used onions in my onion-shaped tupperware, and think fondly of you every time I do!

  2. Pingback: Garlicky Peanut Noodles with Crunchy Vegetables « The Dough Will Rise Again

  3. Pingback: Roasted Tomato Soup « The Dough Will Rise Again

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

