OMG I Can Bake! Chocolate Chip Cookies.

I’ve always, always wanted to be able to bake.
I’ve always, always failed in epic fashion.

There was the one Christmas my brother and I opted to make my great aunt’s key lime pie that involved a meringue. We squeezed 2 dozen key limes! But the pie never set, the meringue never peaked, and it was all one (still tasty) mess. There was the yellow layer cake I made Matt from scratch as a surprise on his birthday, complete with homemade chocolate icing. It took an entire day of me holed up in my parents’ kitchen, crafting this masterpiece. It looked picture perfect but tasted horrible. The cake was too dense and dry, the icing totally inedible. Matt tried to feign delight but we ended up dumping my hard work in the trash. I was never destined to be great in all things, I decided. I settled for box cakes and break and bake cookies. I was happy-ish about it.

But then I found this recipe for chocolate chip cookies, and my faith was renewed in my baking abilities.  They are simple and delicious, and you will never, ever go back to break and bake. They may even give you the confidence to try other baked goods that don’t look too intimidating. If they’re too complex, I highly recommend starting a “Make For Me, Tina!” board on pinterest. It works.

OMG I Can Bake! Chocolate Chip Cookies
I got this recipe off a blog 4 years ago and don’t even know where now.

Ingredients:
1/2 cup butter (softened)
1/2 cup brown sugar (packed)
1/2 cup white sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/8 cup all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup dark chocolate chunks
1/2 cup pecans, toasted (chopped or coarsely ground)

Directions:
Cream the butter and sugar in a bowl.
Beat in the egg and vanilla extract.
Mix the flour, baking soda and salt in another bowl.
Mix the dry ingredients into the wet.
Mix in the chocolate and the pecans.
Place the dough onto a greased cookie sheet one tablespoon at a time.
Bake in a 350F preheated oven for 8-10 minutes.

A few notes:

  • Yes, I grease my cookie sheets with crisco. Feel free to make fun of me.
  • I can never find dark chocolate chunks so I use semi-sweet.
  • Always! Toast! Nuts! Also, I generally hate nuts in things, but the pecans (pronounced “pee-cans” duh) really add a great flavor in these cookies. I wouldn’t leave them out unless you were allergic. At least try it once this way, ok?
— jcristg
One thought on “OMG I Can Bake! Chocolate Chip Cookies.

  1. I made a half-batch of Nestle Toll House cookies (per the packaging) using Ghiradelli chips. My half-batch measurements pretty much matched what you have noted above. And yet I managed to make exactly six cookies. SIX. Granted, they were the size of a hubcap, but still.

    Congrats on conquering the chocolate chip cookie. It’s a staple in my world. Though I prefer walnuts. Lots and lots of walnuts.

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

