Crock Pot Short Ribs.

Like many of you probably do, I like to make more complicated things for supper on the weekend. Matt and I used to go out to dinner a good bit but we’ve been trying to cut both expenses and calories, so I’ve been trying my hand at things I might not ordinarily make. One of my most favorite things to eat at a restaurant – and something you only see in Columbia in the dead of winter – are short ribs. Thus, I’ve been pinning recipes throughout the summer, just waiting for the weather to cool off enough that I could justify having my oven on all afternoon. I’ve pinned so many that Christina finally suggested last week that I might go ahead and tackle one of these short rib recipes so I would know whether or not I had the Gift. Fortunately for her – and for me, honestly – I had just pinned this crock pot recipe as one I thought might be a good starter.

It did not disappoint.

Crock Pot Short Ribs (it really deserves a title with more pizzazz, y’all)
via

Ingredients
1 cup red wine
2/3 cup ketchup
3 tablespoons soy sauce
2 cloves garlic, crushed
2 tablespoons dark brown sugar
½ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
4 pounds beef short ribs
2 medium-sized yellow onions, chopped

Mix first six ingredients in your crock pot. Add the short ribs. Cover with onions and cook on low for 7-9 hours, or until meat starts to fall off the bone.

Remove short ribs from crock pot and separate meat from bones. Discard bones. In a separate bowl, spoon the remaining liquid/sauce/onions. Refrigerate for at least 6 hours. Remove fat that will have collected at the top from sauce , and mix the sauce with the short ribs in a saucepan until warmed through.

A few notes:

  • Little Penguin is one of our favorite, cheap red wines. I use it for cooking because I know we will enjoy what’s left with the meal.
  • This dish is not low-calorie.
  • I was afraid the ketchup + the brown sugar would be too sweet but it was not at all.
  • I found short ribs at my local butcher and had to cut them into individual ribs in order to make them work in my oval crock pot. If you have to do the same, stand them up with the bone sticking out of the sauce.
  • You really, really (!) want to make this a day ahead. The amount of fat that congeals will astound you. I let mine cook overnight Friday, separated the meat from the sauce Saturday morning, let the fat settle throughout the day and we had it for supper Saturday night. Muddle through and deal with the fat though, because you really, really want to make this for supper this winter.
— jcristg, master of the short rib.
One thought on “Crock Pot Short Ribs.

  1. I don’t actually “get” Pinterest but I clicked on your link and am in love with all of the food blogs you have pinned that I’ve never heard of. This could be trouble.

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

