chicken bog.

Both members of my household are pretty MEH about soup. Even when it’s cold and rainy, seeing most kinds of soup on the weekly meal calendar lead to feelings of just “ehhhh.” I made a butternut squash soup a few Januarys ago, and after all the peeling and chopping and cooking and pureeing, it was a big ole bland disappointment. I always think of that failed venture when I consider making soup for supper. (I also refuse now to deal with butternut squash, but that’s another topic altogether.)

I make an exception for chili, and for chicken bog. Every time I mention chicken bog to Christina, I get that same puzzled, “WTH are you talking about?!” response from her. So it appears this is another one of those Southernisms that I once thought everyone knew about. And I can’t describe a bog, only that it’s not as soupy as, well, soup. And it involves rice. I think originally it had squirrel and other “game” in it, but now it commonly includes just chicken.

I got this recipe from a friend a few years ago, and I make it often during the winter.  I’ve altered it to include more veggies, and using instant brown rice in lieu of regular brown rice gives me that thick, bog-y texture I like so much. You could certainly use regular rice and have more of a soup, but I really don’t know why you’d want to.

This makes enough for us to have for supper, plus me to have for lunch for 3-4 days.

Chicken Bog

1 medium onion, chopped
1 bag of baby carrots
1 large red bell pepper, chopped
1 tbsp olive oil
4 garlic cloves, minced
2 cups cooked chicken, shredded
1 cup instant brown rice
1 can of diced tomatoes with peppers and onions
1-3 tbsp chopped pickled jalapenos
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp black pepper
6 cups of chicken broth

Saute onion, carrots and red bell peppers in hot oil in a large dutch oven until tender, about 7 minutes. Add garlic and saute another minute. Stir in cooked chicken, and next 5 ingredients. Stir in chicken broth.

Bring to a boil, reduce heat and cook about an hour.
Top with a dollop of sour cream, some extra jalapenos and a smidge of cheddar.

— no soup for you, jcristg.

4 thoughts on “chicken bog.

  1. Well, thank god you didn’t mention before that a bog traditionally contained SQUIRREL, or I would have written if off immediately.

    I mean… SQUIRREL?!

  2. My husband would hate this, but I think I might love it. Especially because it has sour cream on the top of it. Everything is better with sour cream.

  3. Yum! Our big normally has just chicken, green bell pepper, onion and sausage. And rice, obvi. I will have to try this healthier bog! Chicken bog completes me.

  4. Pingback: meal planning. | The Dough Will Rise Again

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

