Cinnamon Roll Biscuits

One of my favorite treats in the world is a cinnamon roll. Warm, and buttery, and full of delicious cinnamon and sugar… there is really nothing better. (For the record, please don’t go ruining my cinnamon rolls with raisins – that is CINNAMON ROLL BLASPHEMY!) Anyways, the (only) downside to cinnamon rolls is that they’re… kind of a pain in the ass to make. I’m just being honest here, guys. I got over my fear of baking with yeast years ago, so that aspect doesn’t bother me – but at the end of the day, using yeast means you need TIME, and lots of it. And quite frankly, I want my warm cinnamon roll when the clock still reads AM, not when I’m getting ready to watch a 3:30pm football game.

So, when I stumbled across a recipe for cinnamon roll BISCUITS on pinterest a few weeks back, I was intrigued, to say the least. Not only does it take significantly less time to make biscuits than to make cinnamon rolls, but these biscuits don’t even have BUTTER in them – and cutting in the butter when you make biscuits is the most time consuming part! (Don’t get too upset when I say these biscuits don’t have have butter – they’re not low-fat or diet or anything… they have A LOT of heavy cream, to make up for the lack of butter!)

As Crist mentioned in her post yesterday, I visited her in the great state of South Carolina this past weekend. Part of my trip involved tailgating for, and attending, the USC football game (I am still scarred from wearing a dress to a football game, for your information). When we found out the game was at noon, that meant we had to get into Breakfast Tailgate mode – forget the chips and dip, we need breakfast foods! Obviously, this was the perfect time to test out the Cinnamon Roll Biscuits. You might be shocked to learn that I did not alter the recipe in any way (other than not measuring the cinnamon chips, and not measuring the ingredients for the glaze… and not using vanilla in the glaze. FINE, I ALTERED IT).

my pin here
original recipe here

Giant Gooey Cinnamon Breakfast Biscuits
makes one 8×8 pan – double the recipe if you want to make a 9×13 pan

Biscuits:
2 cups all purpose flour
1 tablespoon dark brown sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/4 cups heavy cream
1/2 cup (or more) cinnamon chips

Glaze:
3/4 cup confectioner’s sugar
1/2 cup heavy cream


1.) Preheat your oven to 425°.

2.) In a large bowl, whisk together your flour, brown sugar, baking powder, and salt.

3.) Pour in your heavy cream, and incorporate it into your flour mixture. I find that a good, rubber spatula is best for this step – so you can scrape down the sides of the bowl well.

4.) Once the cream is fully incorporated, you should have a sticky, but firm, dough. If the dough seems too dry, you can add some more heavy cream, a tablespoon at a time. Flour your work surface lightly, and pat HALF of your dough out with your hands to make a square (or rectangle) approximately the size of your pan. Spray the pan with cooking spray, and press the dough into the bottom (you can squish it around with your fingers to make it fit).

5.) Sprinkle about half your cinnamon chips over the dough in the bottom of the pan (I was quite liberal with this step).

6.) Take the second half of your dough, and pat it out on your floured surface to make a second square (or rectangle) the size of your pan. Lay it on top of the cinnamon chips on your first layer of dough, and press it down lightly.

7.) Sprinkle more cinnamon chips on top (again, I was quite liberal here).

8.) Bake at 425° for about 15 minutes – the biscuits won’t brown, so just keep an eye on it until the dough doesn’t look moist anymore (watch it closely, so the biscuits don’t dry out! Though, I’m not sure how they could, with that much heavy cream in there).

9.) While your biscuits bake, make your glaze. I put the confectioner’s sugar into a bowl, and just added heavy cream a little bit at a time until the glaze was the consistency I wanted (thick, but able to be drizzled easily). The glaze may seem lumpy at first – but just keep stirring, and it will come together.

10.) Drizzle your glaze over your biscuits. Cut them into squares for serving (or just go at the pan with a fork).

I tell you what, these things were SO. GOOD. The biscuits were creamy and delicious, but not sweet – which was perfect, because the cinnamon chips and glaze added plenty of sugar. They are as rich as all get out… but that didn’t stop me from eating several servings over the course of the day. Start to finish, these took about 30 minutes to make, which is a total time-saver win, in my book. Totally perfect for a quick, but decadent, weekend (or holiday!) breakfast.

I think my pants shrunk in the dryer again,
Tina

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

