homemade salad dressing.

Do you still use bottled salad dressing? Are you of the ilk that nothing can beat Hidden Valley Ranch? Do you think making your own salad dressing is a huge pain in the behind?
Oh man, you are sorely mistaken.

As I’ve mentioned, we tend to eat a lot of chicken and salad during the summer, or when I’m feeling uninspired. And when you eat salad for supper 3 nights a week, you tend to get a leeeeeetle bit bored with the dressing options on the market. There are 1,000 salad dressings out there, but the ones that aren’t loaded with fat are rarely worth their $2.99 price tag. So, I started making my own, even though at first I genuinely thought I MIGHT DIE from ALL THE WORK it required.

Kidding. You’re going to kick yourself for not trying your own sooner.

Creamy Balsamic Dressing
via Salad in a Jar

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon light soy sauce
1 1/2 tablespoon Dijon mustard
1 1/2 tablespoon honey
3 tablespoons nonfat Greek yogurt
1/2 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

Mix well and store in refrigerator.

(I make mine in a mason jar, and the above picture was from the dinner I took to our neighbors upon the birth of their son. No, I do not regularly put ribbons on my salad dressings, but aren’t I so crafty?)

Creamy Goat Cheese Salad Dressing
via Serious Eats

1 1/2 ounces fresh goat cheese, room temperature
2 tablespoons mayonnaise
2 tablespoons half and half
1 teaspoon white wine vinegar
Kosher salt
Freshly cracked black pepper

Wisk together the mayonnaise, half and half, goat cheese and vinegar. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

My suggestions:

  • This is the dressing I make the most often, as Matt absolutely loves it. I usually cut it in half for two people.
  • You can use fat-free half and half or low-fat mayo, but do not use both. The dressing needs a little bit of fat in it to work. (that’s about as scientific as I get, people. emulsification? something along those lines? who knows.) I use full fat Dukes and fat-free half and half.
  • Heavy cream, in a pinch, does not work as a substitute for half and half. Learn from my mistakes.
  • Season this well.
Go forth and conquer the homemade salad dressing!
— jcristg
4 thoughts on “homemade salad dressing.

  1. For those of us who live above the Mason-Dixon line, and are uninitiated into the world of Southern Foods – Duke’s is mayonnaise. Just FYI 🙂

  2. Pingback: Chicken is boring. « The Dough Will Rise Again

  3. Pingback: balsamic turkey meatballs. « The Dough Will Rise Again

  4. Pingback: honey goat cheese salad dressing. | The Dough Will Rise Again

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

