mini meatloaves.

Are you already sick of thinking about turkey? I am. I’ve never been a big fan of Thanksgiving and I don’t even like turkey, so Butterballs and brine and roasting are all so far out of my mind this week. Clearly, I’m in the minority, if you have any exposure to the internets at all. (If your only exposure to the real world is Target or Belk or the mall, well, you probably think it’s already Christmas.)

ANYWAY. If you’re focused on turkey, just bookmark this recipe and return to it another time. But if you’re like me, and itching for something that actually has flavor, is quick and is hard to screw up, then welcome to my little corner of the internet. I knew we would be best friends.

Mini Meatloaves
via Cooking Light

1/2 cup ketchup
1 1/2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
1 pound ground sirloin
3/4 cup finely chopped onion
1/4 cup seasoned breadcrumbs
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1/8 teaspoon black pepper
1 large egg, lightly beaten
Cooking spray

Preheat oven to 400°.

Combine ketchup and mustard, stirring well with a whisk. Reserve 2 1/2 tablespoons ketchup mixture.

Combine remaining ketchup mixture, beef, and next 6 ingredients (beef through egg) in a large bowl, stirring to combine.

Divide beef mixture into 4 equal portions. Shape each portion into a 4 x 2 1/2-inch loaf; place loaves on a cooking rack on a jelly roll pan coated with cooking spray.

Spread about 2 teaspoons reserved ketchup mixture evenly over each loaf. Bake at 400° for 25 minutes or until done.

My Notes:

  • I always make more of the ketchup/mustard mixture because I like to have a good bit on top.
  • I either grind up a piece of wheat bread or use panko. I don’t keep regular breadcrumbs in my house — for no good reason, honestly.
  • These are a fan favorite at our house. Roast some baby potatoes, do some green beans, and you’ve got an easy but satisfying meal.

Phoning this one in because I’m ready for December 1,
jcristg

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

