white chicken chili.

Y’all, I am sick. And whiney and sneezy and sniffly and stuffy. And just want to lay in the bed and sleep. Sadly for me – and for most of those around me – it’s the week of Christmas and I don’t have time to rest. I’m cooking dinner for 8 on Thursday (wearing a mask. and gloves.) and I’m trying to finish up things at work before the new year. Fortunately all my presents are wrapped and under the tree, and my house is as decorated as it’s going to get. Aside from the cooking for Thursday, I’ve got most of the rest of my ducks in a row… I just need to feel better.

And so, I renewed my quest for a White Chicken Chili yesterday because it was the only thing in the world I could think of that sounded good. And lo, it was wonderful and perfect. It’s not as thick as I’d like it to be, but I think I will start messing with this recipe in an attempt to make my ideal chicken chili.

White Chicken Chili
via Tasty Kitchen

Ingredients

  • 1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
  • 1 whole Onion, Chopped
  • 1-½ pound Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breast, Cubed
  • ½ teaspoons Cayenne Pepper
  • 1-½ teaspoon Ground Cumin
  • 3 cloves Garlic, Crushed
  • 1 can (10 Oz. Can) Green Enchilada Sauce
  • 1 can (4.25 Oz. Can) Green Chilis, Chopped
  • 4 cups Chicken Broth
  • 2 cans (15.5 Oz. Can) Great Northern Beans
  • 2 cups Shredded Monterey Jack Cheese, Divided

Into a soup pot, add the olive oil. Turn heat to medium and add the chopped onion. While the onion is cooking, cut chicken into cubes, season and add to the pot. Cook until onions are soft and chicken is no longer pink. Stir in seasonings and garlic and add in the enchilada sauce, green chilis, and chicken broth. Simmer for about 45 minutes.

Drain and rinse beans and add them to the soup. Simmer another 15 minutes. Add salt and pepper if needed. Right before serving, remove soup off the heat and stir in half of the shredded cheese until melted. Serve with remaining shredded cheese. Jalapeños can be added for more heat.

Notes:

  • Kroger only had mild green enchilada sauce but I think medium would do better for me.
  • You will need to season the chili with salt and pepper. Especially if you use low-sodium chicken broth.
  • I immersion-blended half the beans before adding them to the pot, thinking that would thicken up the chili. HAHAHA it did not. Chalk another one up to impaired cognitive skills, due to cold.
  • I used pepper jack cheese YUM.

Send me an elf to make me feel better, ok?
jcristg

4 thoughts on “white chicken chili.

  1. I’m coming into this late, but when I need to thicken up chili, I either mix a little masa (or cornmeal if I don’t have masa) into some water and dump that in. Crumbled up tortilla chips work too, but add a fair amount of salt. Now I want some white chicken chili!

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

