pasta with peas and beef.

Matt and I sat at the bar at Liberty yesterday, eating salads and drinking beer and he said, “you know, we’ve got that beef tenderloin leftover. For supper, how about some pasta with a cream sauce and some peas?” I thought it was a pretty good idea but didn’t even know where to start, so I of course took to the internet. When I couldn’t find anything that suited my fancy, I went to the next best source: my mom. She read a couple recipes to me out of some cookbooks, and I just decided to wing it. Y’all, it turned out pretty dang good!

So if you’re still sitting under some leftovers – ham would work great with this too, I think — try this.

Pasta with Peas and Beef

1 lb fettuccine
1 10 oz. bag of frozen peas, thawed and drained
1 small onion, chopped
1-2 tbsp of butter
1 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream
leftover beef tenderloin, cubed
grated fresh parmesan, to taste

Bring a pot of salted water to a boil, and cook pasta according to directions. Add peas during the last 1-2 minutes of cooking; drain and set aside in a large serving bowl.

Meanwhile, melt the butter in a saute pan and add the onions. Saute until soft and add the cream. Season the sauce with salt and pepper, and reduce down by a 1/3, about 5 minutes. Add cream sauce to noodles, with beef and parmesan. Toss to combine.

Serve with more parmesan.

Happy day before my birthday!
jcristg

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

