Pumpkin Muffins

Given that I am the “yankee baker” half of this here blogging duo… quite frankly, I am not sure I have ever posted a recipe involving a baked good! It seems that I should remedy that pretty quick, don’t you think?

As I’ve mentioned before, I love to bake. LOVE IT. At any given time, I have 30+ pounds of flour in my pantry, 5 bags of brown sugar, 3 boxes of baking soda, several jars of molasses, and many pounds of butter (this is before we even get into how many kinds of chocolate chips, toffee bits, dried fruits, rolled oats, and other random baking add-ins I have in my cabinets). In the event that a zombie invasion begins tomorrow, you can bet your ass I’ll have 10 dozen cookies and 4 loaves of bread on my person when I flee for safety. For real though, I bake so much and at such random times that it’s helpful for me to ALWAYS have the essential baking goods on hand – so that when I decide to make pumpkin muffins at 10pm on a Sunday night, there’s no need to run to the 24-hour grocery store in my pajamas for baking powder.

As luck would have it… this past Sunday night, around 10pm, I decided that pumpkin muffins sounded like a good idea. So I made them! And they were delicious.

Pumpkin Muffins with Cinnamon Chips
Makes about 18 muffins
Original recipe here (I’ve adapted it, shocking NO ONE)
My pin here

1 3/4 cup all purpose flour
1/2 t baking powder
1/2 t baking soda
scant 1/2 t salt
3/4 t cinnamon
1/8 t nutmeg
1/2 t ground ginger
2 eggs
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter, melted and cooled
8 oz pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling!)
1/4 cup orange juice
1/2 t vanilla
1/2 bag of cinnamon chips (options – can also be replaced with chopped nuts, chocolate chips, dried cherries, etc)

1.) Preheat your oven to 350°. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger.

2.) In another bowl, whisk together your eggs, sugar, butter, pumpkin, orange juice, and vanilla. Go slowly with the whisking, so you don’t end up with orange juice and melted butter all over yourself. It’ll take a minute for everything to come together, but eventually you’ll have a nice, even mixture.

3.) Pour your wet mixture into your dry mixture, and gently fold the two together with a rubber spatula. Be careful not to over-mix – stop when the wet and dry ingredients are just combined. At this point, pour in your cinnamon chips, and gently fold those into the mixture as well.

4.) Line your muffin tins with cupcake liners or spray them with cooking spray. Fill each cup 2/3 full.

5.) Bake for 15-20 minutes. They are done when a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out with just a few crumbs on it (not all wet and doughy).

And there you have it! These muffins are delicious on their own, or spread with some butter or peanut butter, or even crumbled into a bowl of greek yogurt! If you wanted to healthify them a bit, you could replace half the all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour (or ALL of it with whole wheat PASTRY flour – the pastry part is important), you could add a tablespoon of ground flax to the dry ingredients, or you could replace half the butter with more pumpkin (or smashed bananas, or applesauce). There is lots you can do to change up this recipe, and still have delicious results.

Late-night baking is where it’s at,
Tina

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Muffins

  1. Pingback: Spicy Sweet Potato Fries « The Dough Will Rise Again

  2. Pingback: Light and Airy Pumpkin Muffins | The Dough Will Rise Again

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

