snickerdoodle bread.

Y’all.

As you know, we don’t generally post on the weekends around here… but I couldn’t resist posting this recipe. I’ve spent most of the day taking down the Christmas decor, and got a wild hair to bake something this afternoon. After a quick glance over my to make Pinterest board and keeping in mind the mini loaf pans my (awesome) uncle gave me for Christmas that I’d been dying to use, I chose this bread. I had all the ingredients on hand or so I thought. Turns out I only had light sour cream, I ran out of sugar (subbed in 1/3ish cup of brown sugar, plus what I topped the loaves with), and I ran out of cinnamon (was short 1/2 tsp or so). I know cinnamon chips are virtually impossible to find in the South, and I actually think this bread would be delightful without them. But you should really buy some to have on hand…

None of that matters and this is some of the best bread I’ve made in a long time. You should make it today, or tomorrow even. It’s easy and it makes your house smell divine.

Snickerdoodle Bread
via Kathie Cooks

2 1/2 c. flour
2 t. baking powder
1/2 t. salt
2 t. cinnamon
1 c. butter, softened
2 c. sugar
3 eggs
2 t. vanilla
1 c. sour cream
1 1/2 c. cinnamon chips
2 T. flour

Topping:
2 T. sugar
2 t. cinnamon

Combine 2 1/2 cups flour and baking powder in a bowl. In a separate bowl cream butter, 2 c. sugar, salt and cinnamon until fluffy, about two minutes. Add eggs one at a time mixing well after each addition. Add vanilla and sour cream and mix to combine. Add flour mixture stirring until just combined. Coat the cinnamon chips with 2 T. flour and stir into batter.

Spoon batter into four/five greased mini loaf pans. Don’t fill more than 2/3 full. Combine 2 T. sugar and 2 t. cinnamon and sprinkle over the top of batter in the pans. Bake at 350º for 35 to 40 minutes until a toothpick inserted into a crack in the center of the loaf comes out clean. Remove from oven and let cool 5 minutes before removing from pan.

I miss my tree already,
jcristg

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

