honey mustard balsamic vinaigrette.

In an effort to make up for the fact I posted a pecan cheesecake pie on the second Tuesday in January, I present to you my new favorite salad and a mainstay in our household since I first made it the week before Christmas. When I started looking for something green and moderately healthy for Christmas dinner with the in-laws, Christina suggested I look at this beautiful salad. And lo, it was the most perfect salad in all the land. I’m keeping a mason jar full of the dressing with a block of blue cheese and a green apple in the fridge, and some toasted pecans — this is our pre-dinner salad until we tire of it.

Publix has delicious blueberries on sale, and I threw some in just for kicks. This would also be delightful with strawberries, or switching the blue cheese for goat, or with spiced pecans. I’ve used spicy dijon mustard, whole grain mustard, and plain old dijon. I’ve made it with and without the shallot, and with equal parts balsamic and oil. Try different ingredients and make it fit your tastes.

Honey Mustard Balsamic Vinaigrette
via Chaos in the Kitchen

  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp mustard
  • 1 small shallot, minced
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 3/4 cup olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
    Combine all ingredients in a small, lidded jar, shake vigorously to combine.

I’ve declared 2012 the year of the pre-dinner salad so look out,
jcristg

3 thoughts on “honey mustard balsamic vinaigrette.

  1. Pingback: The Dough Will Rise Again

  2. Pingback: honey goat cheese salad dressing. | The Dough Will Rise Again

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

