turkey meatballs.

Happy Monday! Aren’t we all just delighted for the weekend to be over, and to have started a new week? No?

I am not sure where my mom came across this recipe but it’s a fan favorite. I don’t make it very often, but when I do, I wonder why not. It’s pretty simple to make, it’s tasty and there’s not much in it that’s bad for you. Win?

Turkey Meatballs and Spaghetti

Meatballs:

1 lb ground turkey breast
2 tbsp pine nuts, toasted
4 tbsp golden raisins, soaked
2 tsp garlic, chopped
3 tbsp onion, chopped
2 tbsp parsley, chopped (I use dried)
1 egg yolk
2 tbsp milk
6 tbsp fresh bread crumbs
¾ kosher salt
½ tsp black pepper
½ tsp sugar

To prepare meatballs, place all above ingredients into a medium sized mixing bowl. Mix well and shape into eight 2.5 oz. balls. Place meatballs on a cookie sheet with liner, and bake at 400 for 20 minutes and reserve.

Sauce:

1 tbsp olive oil
2 tsbp garlic, chopped
1 28oz. can crushed tomatoes
6 basil leaves, chopped
¾ c water
Salt and pepper to taste

1 lb spaghetti , cooked

In sauce pot over medium heat, sauté garlic in olive oil until soft. Add tomatoes, basil, water, salt and pepper. Add reserved meatballs and simmer for 30 minutes.

Toss noodles with sauce and meatballs and serve.

My notes:

  • Naturally, I leave out the pine nuts.
  • Don’t turn your nose up at the raisins (TINA); they really add a nice hint of sweet to this dish.
  • I always use a whole pack of turkey breast, so I end up with more than 8 meatballs and adjust the ingredients accordingly.
  • Silpat liners have changed my life.

I never promised you a rose garden blog with no pasta recipes,
jcristg

3 thoughts on “turkey meatballs.

  1. The recipe actually came from the CBS Saturday Early show’s “Chef on a Shoestring”. I always double the recipe and I also leave out the pine nuts!

  2. Pingback: lamb meatballs and orzo. | The Dough Will Rise Again

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

