chicken is boring, II

For the record, I did not die in Michigan this weekend. In fact, I adapted pretty well, I think — especially considering once I arrived, Tina surveyed all of my “winter wear” and declared over half of it unacceptable. I soldiered on, with only minimal complaining. (I did some complaining. After all, you’re in 32 pounds of clothing, why does the heat need to be on full blast in stores or restaurants? I go from shivering to feel ill from the heat in a matter of minutes.)

See? I even sat on an ice bench.

Anyway. Seeing as how we’re towards the end of January, I thought I’d give you some more boring (but delicious) chicken recipes to help you continue your healthy eating resolutions. Neither of these are going to knock your socks off, but they are both tasty and satisfying mid-week suppers.

Chicken with White Wine Sauce
via Cooking Light from ages ago

  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 4 (4-ounce) skinned, boned chicken breast halves
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1/2 cup fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 4 teaspoons grated Parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 350°.

Combine first 4 ingredients in a shallow dish. Dredge chicken in flour mixture.

Heat oil in an ovenproof skillet over medium heat. Add chicken; cook 2 minutes on each side or until browned. Add broth and wine. Bring to a boil; remove from heat. Cover and bake at 350° for 30 minutes or until chicken is done. Sprinkle with cheese.

Raspberry-Balsamic Glazed Chicken
also via Cooking Light from ages ago

  • 1 teaspoon vegetable oil
  • Cooking spray
  • 1/2 cup chopped red onion
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons minced fresh or 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt, divided
  • 4 (4-ounce) skinned, boned chicken breast halves
  • 1/3 cup seedless raspberry preserves
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper

Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet coated with cooking spray over medium-high heat until hot. Add onion; sauté 5 minutes. Combine thyme and 1/4 teaspoon salt; sprinkle over chicken. Add chicken to skillet; sauté 6 minutes on each side or until done. Remove chicken from skillet; keep warm. Reduce heat to medium-low. Add 1/4 teaspoon salt, preserves, vinegar, and pepper, stirring constantly until the preserves melt. Spoon raspberry sauce over chicken.

Please don’t tell me I’m the only one who looks for exciting, easy and healthy chicken recipes for weeknight suppers,
jcristg

