dijon chicken.

Whew, what a week so far, following a big birthday weekend in our house. I’ve got a huge post coming – eventually – about the 14 layer cake I made Matt for his birthday, but I’ve not had time to go through the 40+ pictures I took of the process to make some sense of it for y’all. So you’re stuck with a new chicken recipe. I am sorry, that’s just the way it is.

This marinade is perfectly wonderful though. It’s tangy and a bit sweet, and lends itself well to baking or grilling. I tend to make 6 breasts at a time on a Sunday and then use the remaining chicken for leftovers or salads throughout the week. I’ve also made the recommended samaches and they were a huge hit at our house. I’m not a big samach for supper kind of girl, but I made do and it was really quite a nice change of pace.

I know you already know this, but the times listed below for cooking are just guides and, in my experience, are woefully too short. Cook your chicken til it’s done, peeps. And if I’m marinating overnight, which I usually do, I leave out the lemon juice.

Dijon Chicken
via Homemade by Holman

1/3 cup Dijon mustard (I love whole grain mustard here)
2 T apple cider vinegar
2 T honey
1T lemon juice
1 tsp dried thyme
1 tsp smoked paprika
1 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp salt

Combine mustard, vinegar, and honey in a small bowl and whisk until smooth. Add spices and stir. Prepare chicken breasts and place in a large plastic storage bag. Pour marinade over the chicken, close bag and shake bag gently and squeeze to evenly coat chicken. Refrigerate one hour, or up to overnight.

Preheat grill, oil lightly and add chicken over medium heat. Cook 5-6 minutes and turn (if chicken sticks, give it another minute or so), cook about 5 minutes more until cooked through. Transfer to a plate and cover with foil for about 10 minutes to allow juices to redistribute.

Those carrots were kind of a disaster so don’t ask m’kay?,
jcristg

2 thoughts on “dijon chicken.

  1. Pingback: Eight Tidbits for Tuesday | Blue-Eyed Bride

  2. Pingback: meal planning. | The Dough Will Rise Again

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

