Spaghetti with Garlic, Chili, and Olive Oil

I am sure I’ve mentioned before that I really love to have a couple recipes up my sleeve that are pantry friendly – something I can throw together when I haven’t been to the grocery store in WAY too long, but don’t feel like ordering carry-out. This one caught my eye a few weeks back, and it has already quickly become a favorite. It literally takes less than 10 minutes to make, there is virtually no mess or clean up, it requires only ingredients that I ALWAYS have in my pantry, and it is DELICIOUS. Sounds like a winner to me!

I will forewarn you: if you are not a fan of raw garlic, this dish might not be for you. The recipe does contain a fair amount of it, and although you can always cut back on it, if you prefer, this dish is best left for fans of garlic. Within the recipe, I’ve added a quick alternative to putting the raw garlic directly into the dish, if that’s not your thing.

Spaghetti with Garlic, Chili, and Olive Oil
serves 2

adapted from this recipe
my pin here

6oz spaghetti
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp red chili pepper flakes
3 T olive oil
1/4 tsp black pepper
1/4 cup freshly grated parmesan
salt for pasta water

1.) Bring a large pot of water to a boil; once it’s boiling, salt the water generously (I typically use one handful, but I have very small hands – so perhaps half a handful, for you normal folks). Add your pasta, and cook until just al dente.

2.) Meanwhile, mince your garlic, and mix it with your chili flakes, black pepper, and olive oil.

(A tip for those who dislike raw garlic: rather than mincing your garlic, just give it a quick smash (as you would to remove the skin). Put your olive oil into a small pan, and put your smashed garlic cloves into the oil. Heat over medium-low heat for 5-7 minutes, just until the garlic gets a tiny bit brown, and very fragrant. At that point, remove and discard the garlic cloves, and use the oil that is now infused with garlic flavor to top your pasta!)

3.) When your pasta is ready, quickly drain it and place it in a bowl. Pour your oil mixture over the top, and toss to coat everything evenly. Try not to pass out from the heavenly scent.

4.) Portion out your pasta, and grate the parmesan directly on top.

This pasta is a great reminder that a dish does not have to complicated or fussy to be delicious. Just a few simple, flavorful ingredients are all you need! And, let’s be honest, I certainly can’t argue with a dinner that takes 8 minutes to make.

But seriously, I smelled faintly of garlic for DAYS after making this,
Tina

2 thoughts on “Spaghetti with Garlic, Chili, and Olive Oil

  1. But whyyyy wouldn’t everyone want to include the garlic? WHYYYY. I love this dish. A lot. Evidenced by the fact that I made it twice last week.

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

