Pumpkin Coconut Muffins

As I am wont to do, I got the urge to bake some muffins on Sunday night. I didn’t have bananas for banana bread, and I only had one egg in the house, so I had to get kind of creative… and for some reason I started wondering if pumpkin coconut muffins would be good. So, I glanced over a few recipes I found online, and kind of made up my own! My husband asked, halfway through the process, how I knew they’d turn out well – and I think he was surprised to hear that I DIDN’T know they would turn out well! Sometimes you just have to throw a bunch of stuff together, toss it in the oven, and hope for the best – and luckily for me, it worked this time!

I know that pumpkin + coconut sounds a little strange… but I swear, they are delicious. They are not super sweet, and neither the coconut nor the pumpkin flavors are overwhelming, so they seem to work well together.

Pumpkin Coconut Muffins
makes about 16

1/4 cup butter
1/4 cup coconut oil
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup sugar
1 cup pumpkin
1 egg
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp ground cinnamon
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup milk (skim milk is fine)
1/2 cup shredded coconut

1.) Preheat your oven to 375. In a small pan, melt your butter, coconut oil, and sugars together over low heat. Once everything is melted and well-combined, transfer the mixture to a large mixing bowl.

2.) Add the pumpkin to the bowl, and beat on low with a hand mixer until well-combined. Once the pumpkin is mixed in – test the temperature of your wet ingredients. If they are more than lukewarm, either let the batter sit for a few minutes until it cools down (or you can just keep beating it with the hand mixer, to help it cool off). Once it’s cooled down to lukewarm, add your egg and beat until incorporated.

3.) Sift together your baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and flour. Add 1/3 of the flour mixture to your wet ingredients, and mix until just combined. Then add half your milk, another 1/3 of your dry ingredients, the rest of the milk, and the rest of the flour mixture (mixing until just incorporated each time). Gently fold the shredded coconut into the batter.

4.) Line a muffin tin with cupcake liners, and fill each one about 1/2 full. Bake for 14-17 minutes, until the tops are just golden, and a toothpick inserted into the center of one of the muffins comes out clean.

These muffins are AWESOME straight out of the oven – I also like to cut them in half and pop them into a toaster oven (or under the broiler in the oven), just to crisp the edges up a bit. They’re light, fluffy, and JUST sweet enough to satisfy your sweet tooth. I imagine they would also freeze well, wrapped tightly in plastic wrap, and stored in a freezer bag.

If you haven’t bought yourself some coconut oil yet, we need to have a talk,
Tina

9 thoughts on “Pumpkin Coconut Muffins

    • Yes ma’am, that would be pumpkin PUREE. The PUREED kind of pumpkin.

      Trader Joe’s has coconut oil, and pretty much any higher end (or heavily hippie) grocery store will have it in their “Natural/Organic Foods” aisle. I feel certain you have plenty of hippie grocery stores near you, being in Portland and all.

  1. Pingback: Light and Airy Pumpkin Muffins | The Dough Will Rise Again

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

