peach bourbon pan sauce.

I finally sat down with my camera last night, to download the hundreds of photos/recipes for the blog, and I realized that it was no wonder I’d had nothing to blog about. I’ve fixed a string of just ho-hum meals! The one (of four) that haunted me the worst though, was Tupelo Honey‘s root beer and molasses marinated pork tenderloin that cooked up beautifully, and looked amazing on the bed of Matt’s grits with a honey apple salsa. I was mighty smug when I took that picture, thinking to myself, “this looks like a restaurant dish!” And it did.

However, in the almost 7 (!) years that Matt and I’ve been together, we had never discussed root beer. And as it turns out, he hates root beer, and I am not a huge fan of it. That was one batch of leftovers that went straight in the trash, and even though it was a month or so ago, it hurt my feelings all over again when I saw my photos.

And so, I’m stuck sharing this Peach Bourbon sauce with you. I’m not going to lie, it’s not nearly as restaurant-quality as that dang pork and salsa. But do not be sad, as this was really delicious and is perfect for a weeknight meal. I served it with chicken, some yellow rice, and roasted broccoli — I hear you, it’s boring. But it was one of those days. (and at least you now have something to do with that bourbon you bought for this chicken.)(one of these days I’m going to make that chicken again and put a real picture in it for pinning, I promise.)

Peach Bourbon Pan Sauce
adapted from here

1 small onion, chopped
4 tablespoons bourbon
1/2 cup fat-free chicken broth
1 cup all-fruit peach preserves
2 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
2 tablespoon cider vinegar

After you’ve cooked your chicken, remove from pan and add onions. Cook until starting to soften.

Combine other ingredients in a small bowl, and add to pan. Cook down, stirring frequently. The sauce will reduce (7-10 minutes) and once it’s hit the consistency you’re happy with, add in the chicken to warm. Serve.

My notes:

  • The original recipe was half of this, but I doubled it because it looked delicious.
  • The original recipe also called for 1 tablespoon of sugar to be added, which I did. It’s my opinion that this made the sauce on the edge of too sweet, and that you get plenty of sweetness from the preserves. Do as you wish.
  • I might try to add some fresh sliced peaches once they arrive…

Trying to summon some good cooking ju-ju,
jcristg

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

