mrs. anne’s baked beans.

Everyone and their mother has a tried and true baked beans recipe… and for good reason too. Some days, you just don’t want a green side dish, you know? Some days you just want carbs and bacon. I adapted this recipe from my mother-in-law, who makes a mean pan of baked beans. I think you’ll be pleased.

Baked Beans

2 large cans of Bush’s Original
3-5 slices of bacon
1 onion, chopped
1/3-1/2 cup of brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350.
Fry bacon in skillet, remove to a paper towel-lined plate to cool. Crumble.
Add onions to grease, cook until soft.

Meanwhile, spread 2 cans of baked beans in a medium sized baking dish. Mix in brown sugar to taste (I use closer to 1/3 cup because I don’t want them overwhelmingly sweet) and cinnamon. Add crumbled bacon, onions and any remaining grease.

Stir to combine and bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

Beans and bacon totally count as a side,
jcristg

2 thoughts on “mrs. anne’s baked beans.

  1. Best beans I’ve ever made. I rarely make them b/c I don’t usually like the way they turn out. So glad I tried this recipe. Very easy to make. Thanks got posting it.

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

