The Best Sangria You’ll Ever Have

Well, it appears that Crist was serious a couple weeks back when she said she was just pretending we didn’t have a blog… so, I suppose I’ll just have to soldier on by myself!

(In reality, Crist is currently very busy partaking in back-to-back-to-back long weekend vacations, so she is OBVIOUSLY quite busy. The only absence which will be excused is NEXT week’s long weekend, as that vacation is due to my visit to the great state of South Carolina. Moving on.)

I have come to the conclusion that the most popular and delicious party cocktail of all time is sangria. I can’t remember the exact circumstances under which I originally sought out a recipe for sangria – a Christmas party, maybe? Either way, it was a few years back, and since that inaugural party, this sangria has been the most important ingredient in every single party my husband and I throw. It’s easy to make, it’s REALLY delicious, and it’s pretty darn boozy, but still goes down easy (too easy? I’ll leave that determination to you).

Now, I am not ashamed to admit that when I make this sangria, I typically make a quintuple batch (I refuse to admit how long it took me to come up with the word quintuple)… and there is rarely any left. There may or may not have been instances in which, once the sangria was gone, the party-goers started digging into the drink dispenser to eat the wine-soaked fruit; and you can all say that’s gross now, but you’d be surprised what sounds like a good idea after 4 or 5 glasses of this stuff.

This recipe is great for a big barbecue, or something like a graduation party or rehearsal dinner. You can also make a single batch, and serve it when you’re just having a couple of girlfriends over for dinner one night.

If you’re going to be making large batches of sangria, I would advise that you invest in a large drink dispenser, as there is no pitcher in this world that will hold 4 or 5 batches of this stuff. I have this one (the large size, clearly) from Pottery Barn, but there are tons of options out there, in all price ranges, so just pick up something that suits your taste and your budget.

The Best Sangria You’ll Ever Have
makes about 8 servings

1 750 mL bottle dry red wine*
1/2 cup brandy
1/2 cup triple sec
1/2 cup orange juice
1/3 cup frozen lemonade concentrate, thawed
2 cups ginger ale
1 granny smith apple, diced
1 orange, cut into slices
1 lime, cut into slices
1 lemon, cut into slices

*As far as the wine goes, this is not the time to use that lovely $100 bottle that your great aunt gave you as a wedding gift. You don’t want to use something that you’d never drink on its own, but a decent $7-$8 bottle is more than fine. When I’m making a large batch, I buy a big jug of Carlo Rossi wine (I believe it’s a 4L bottle), which is typically $12-$15, and pour that bad boy right into my drink dispenser. I prefer their Paesano for this.

In my experience, this sangria tastes the best if it’s made the night before you plan to drink it, so all the flavors have time to mingle. However, if you’re not going to be able to fit whatever drink container you’re using into a fridge, I’d just go ahead and make it the day of consumption (so that the orange juice and lemonade concentrate aren’t unrefrigerated for too long).

1.) The night before you plan to drink the sangria, combine the wine, brandy, triple sec, orange juice, and lemonade concentrate in whatever container you’re using, give it a good stir, and refrigerate overnight.

2.) The next morning, add your sliced fruit to the sangria.

3.) Right before serving, add the ginger ale to the sangria, and stir everything up. Serve with lemon and orange slices for garnish, and enjoy!

I literally serve this stuff all year long, and I get asked for the recipe every single time someone tastes it for the first time. Everyone seems to love it, even the men (though they tend to decline the decorative orange slice on the edge of their glass), and it suits wine-drinkers and liquor-drinkers alike. I’m already excited for the next party we’re having, just so I can serve it!

It’s like the jungle juice you remember from college, but way classier,
Tina

24 thoughts on “The Best Sangria You’ll Ever Have

  1. Getting a little freaked out at your ESP abilities – actually found a great paella recipe recently and was going to try it this weekend (so I can get fresh shrimp at the farmers’ market) and thought – I should make sangria to go with this meal….and here you are. I’ll let you know how it goes!!!

  2. Had to postpone the paella making due to a late arrival at the Farmers’ Market but I’m going to try again this weekend. (People are seriously competitive over fresh fish).

  3. Hello, I want to make this for a party this Saturday, but I need to make 3 gallons. How many batches do I need to make of this for 3 gallons?

    • You’ll need to make about 12 batches. My suggestion would be to buy two 5L jugs of red wine (I like the Carlo Rossi Paesano – it’s usually around $10 for the 5L jug), as those are equivalent to about 6 bottles of wine each. Then, just multiple everything else by 12 (I think you’ll need two fifths each of the brandy and triple sec). As for the fruit, just add an extra piece of each.

      I hope that helps!!

  4. When you say one bottle what size are you speaking of? Do you mean 4L Carlo Rossi? And are you still using these measurements for the other ingredience:
    1/2 cup brandy
    1/2 cup triple sec
    1/2 cup orange juice
    1/3 cup frozen lemonade concentrate, thawed
    That is a huge bottle. How many would you say it serves?

    • Sorry for the confusion, Joanna! I’ll update the recipe to reflect the bottle size. The original recipe is written for one 750mL bottle of wine. If you are using the big 5L jug of Carlo Rossi, you’ll want to multiply all the other ingredients by 6 (so, 3 cups brandy, 3 cups triple sec, etc).

      Let me know if you have any other questions!

      • we were talking 4 L now we are talking 5 L. Im really getting confused. If I use 4L do I need 2 cups brandy, 2 cups triple sec, etc? Someone please advise…my math is horrible.

      • Hi Renee! I usually aim for a brandy that’s reasonably priced, but not CHEAP; you don’t need the best brandy you can buy, but you don’t want it to have that overly harsh bite that cheap booze can have. I typically end up buying E&J Brandy, but anything in about the $10 range should do! Good luck, and I hope you enjoy the sangria!

  5. That was a quick response Tina! Thanks! I’m wondering what FLAVOR? Blackberry, peach, etc? I will be using Carlo Rossi Paesano.

    • Oh, sorry! I don’t think I’ve ever purchased a flavored brandy before – just the plain stuff. I also know just about nothing about brandy, so I am far from an expert 🙂 But, if you don’t want to use a plain brandy, I think I’d go for an apple or cherry-flavored brandy… I think those flavors would work best here.

      • I guess I know even less. I thought brandy only came flavored. LOL Ill check things out when I get to the store. Thanks so much. Your recipe sounds really delicious and I’m anxious to make it for my guests for Thanksgiving…..all 24 of them! I’ll let you know how the sangria turns out. Thanks again for your help!

  6. I was wondering if you have ever made a white sangria, perhaps with peaches. If so, how would you change this recipe for that besides a white wine and what other tweaks? I like your recipe and was wondering about making a white peach sangria as well and thought this could probably be tweaked with the right ingredients. I just wasn’t sure what would be needed to do so. Any ideas?

  7. I love the recipe! Thanks for sharing it… I’m the worst at math though.. So I’m planning to make 3 gallons of this sangria. Can I get some help to figure out how much of each ingredient I would need for this amount? Thanks in advance!

    • Hi Anna! This is approximate, but you’re going to want to multiply everything by 10. So, get yourself 2 five-liter jugs of wine (you’ll only need 1.5 jugs, but it’s cheaper than buying 10 bottles of wine!), and then multiply everything else by 10 (five cups of brandy, five cups of triple sec, etc). That’ll probably make a bit more than 3 gallons, but it should get you close!

      I hope it works out… Enjoy!!

      >

      • I’d say it’s definitely worth a shot – the pineapple would probably add some great flavor! I might wait to add the pineapple until a couple hours before serving (rather than the night before), because I wonder if it wouldn’t fall apart after a while. Good luck, and please let me know how it turns out!

        >

  8. Hi, this may be a dumb question, but I was wondering if it is ok to make this 2 days before you plan to serve it? Or does that do something weird to the flavors if they sit too long together? Just step 1, the fruit and ginger ale would still be added day of. Thanks!

    • Nope, that should be just fine! As you said, add the ginger ale and fruit the day you plan to serve, but doing the rest two days out should be fine. Good luck!

      >

  9. I am so confused with 4 Liters 5 Liter 5 gallons 3 gallons, I’m not good with math either especially when it comes to ml, liters, etc…lol Can you possibly give the recipe for one gallon and then if we want to make more gallons than we can just multiply ingrediants by gallons so if we do a gallon and want to make 2 gallons instead to just double the recipe or is that not the way it works. Please advise.

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

