grilled vidalia onion and steak sandwiches.

I’m back! Thanks to Sneaky T for picking up the slack for me as I spent some much needed time away with Matt. Fortunately for us all, I got some of my cooking mojo back over the past week, and I’ve got a slew of good stuff on the docket for you.

Many, many moons ago, when I was first starting to cook, I relied almost exclusively on Cooking Light. (I still do to some degree, though their issues are not as slam-jam packed with appealing recipes as they once were, in my opinion.) I have about 10 years of their annual receipts thanks to my mom, and each of them is dog-eared with some of our favorite recipes.

This is a great dish to make for company because it’s easily adjusted to the number of people you’re feeding and doesn’t require a ton of prep work.  Toss a salad and throw some sweet potato fries in the oven and you’ve got yourself a noteworthy supper.

Grilled Vidalia Onion and Steak Sandwiches
Cooking Light, June 2005

Steak:
3/4 cup cola
2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
1 teaspoon coarsely ground black pepper
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground chipotle chile pepper
4 garlic cloves, crushed
1 bay leaf, crushed
1 (1 1/2-pound) flank steak, trimmed

Dressing:
3/4 cup minced arugula
1/2 cup low-fat mayonnaise

Remaining ingredients:
Cooking spray
6 (1/2-inch-thick) slices Vidalia onion
6 (2-ounce) Kaiser rolls
12 (1/4-inch-thick) slices tomato

Mix up marinade and add steak. Marinate a couple of hours or overnight.

Prepare grill. Mix arugula and mayo; set aside.

Spray grill with cooking spray (Pull it off with Pam, why don’t you?)
Place steak on the grill and cook 8 minutes per side, for medium rare. Pull off steak and add onions, dousing them in some red wine vinegar. Remove onions and grill buns if desired. Allow flank steak to rest 5-10 minutes before cutting diagonally against the grain.

Spread buns with arugula mayo, top with pieces of flank steak, grilled onions and tomato.

That leftover arugula mayo goes great on a couple slices of white bread with some delicious Johns Island tomatoes, if I do say so myself.

I need a vacation after my vacation,
jcristg

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

