post-grill marinated skirt steak.

Christina laughs at me, saying I go to the grocery store more than anyone she knows. And, well, I kind of do – especially for someone who plans her meals for the week. Here’s the thing though. I plan and shop on Sunday for supper through Thursday nights. On Friday, I assess our weekend, plan Friday and Saturday night suppers, and lunches for Saturday and Sunday, and shop on Friday afternoon for the weekend. It works for me, and it helps keep me from wasting a bunch of produce that doesn’t last a full week anyway.

That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

In the event that you shop similarly, might I suggest that you add this delicious skirt steak to your menu this weekend? Until I read this post, I’d never once considered ‘marinating’ a meat once it had been cooked. But this is genius and delicious and easy too. I wonder what else would work well this way?

Post-Grill Marinated Skirt Steak
via The Bitten Word

1/2 cup soy sauce (I’d use low-sodium next time)
1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce
2 green onions, sliced thin
2 tbsp plus 2 tsp sugar
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 tbsp Dijon mustard
2 tsp balsamic vinegar
Salt and pepper
1/4 cup vegetable oil
2 (12-ounce) skirt steaks, trimmed

Combine soy sauce, Worcestershire, green onions, 2 tablespoons sugar, garlic, mustard, vinegar, and 1½ teaspoons pepper in bowl. Slowly whisk in oil until incorporated and sugar has dissolved. Pat steaks dry with paper towels and sprinkle all over with remaining 2 teaspoons sugar, ½ teaspoon salt, and ½ teaspoon pepper. Keep marinade at room temperature so as not to cool down the steaks when they come off the grill.

Prepare grill. Clean and oil cooking grate. Grill steaks (uncovered and directly over coals if using charcoal; covered if using gas) until well browned and meat registers 125 degrees for medium-rare, 2 to 5 minutes per side.

Transfer steaks to 9×13 pan and poke all over with fork. Pour marinade over steaks, tent with aluminum foil, and let rest for 5-10 minutes.

Transfer meat to carving board and slice thinly against grain. Use marinade as a dipping sauce, if desired.

Matt ate leftovers on a kaiser roll and said it was even better on a sandwich. Take that endorsement for what you will…

Red meat is good for the soul,
jcristg

One thought on “post-grill marinated skirt steak.

  1. I’m embarassed to say that it took me WAY too long to figure out what “post-grill” meant – even after reading the recipe. I think I need more coffee. Love this though, because you don’t render the marinade useless for the actual meal by soaking raw meat in it!!

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

