Strawberry Lemon Streusel Muffins

A few months back, my family and I spent a quick weekend in Seattle to celebrate the high school graduation of one of my nephews. Despite the fact that we were only going to be in town for about 48 hours, and that we were helping throw his graduation party during that time, we found a few moments to slip into the city and visit Pike Place Market. I had never been to Seattle before, but I’ve heard about this market a million times – and even though it was intensely crowded, and kind of insane, it was worth the trip. There were so many interesting things to look at and buy; I was sad that I didn’t have more room in my little suitcase to haul things home, but I did end up with a few fun things to try out.

All of that to say: I have had a bag of dried strawberries sitting around my kitchen for a while, and I’ve been dreaming up ways to use them. I woke up yesterday with an urge to bake, and muffins on my mind, and I think the end result was pretty darn delicious.

Strawberry Lemon Streusel Muffins
makes 12

6 T butter, melted and cooled slightly
3/4 cup sugar
1 egg
1 T lemon zest
1 T freshly squeezed lemon juice
1/4 t salt
3/4 t baking soda
1 t baking powder
1 3/4 c all-purpose flour
1 c low-fat greek yogurt
2/3 c chopped dried strawberries

For the streusel:
3/4 c all-purpose flour
2 T brown sugar
2 T white sugar
5 T butter, cool but not hard, cut into pieces

1.) Preheat your oven to 350°. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the melted butter, sugar, egg, lemon juice, and lemon zest (make sure the butter is cooled enough that it won’t scramble your egg).

2.) In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, baking soda and baking powder.

3.) Add 1/3 of the flour mixture to the wet mixture, and gently fold it in with a rubber spatula (throughout this recipe, make sure to only mix each addition until just combined). Then add 1/2 the greek yogurt, another 1/3 of the flour mixture, the remaining 1/2 of the sour cream, and the final 1/3 of the flour mixture, gently combining after each addition.

4.) Fold in your chopped, dried strawberries (I know Trader Joe’s carries dried strawberries – but if you can’t find them, you can use any other dried fruit that you like – blueberries or raspberries would also be great in these muffins).

5.) Scoop the mixture into a muffin tin that has been coated in non-stick cooking spray, filling each cup about 2/3 full.

6.) Now you can quickly mix up your streusel. Whisk together the flour and sugars, and then drop in the butter. Use your hands to smoosh the butter and dry mixture together, crumbling it as you go. After a few minutes, your butter will be evenly incorporated into the dry ingredients, and you’ll have a nice crumb mixture. Top each muffin with a small handful of the crumbles.

7.) Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the middle of a muffin comes out clean, or with just a few small, moist crumbs attached.

8.) Cool in the muffin tin for about 10 minutes before removing the muffins to a wire rack to cool completely.

These muffins were a total winner for me. I loved the chewy bits of dried fruit, which gave them some nice texture, and despite being covered in streusel, they were not overwhelmingly sweet. The lemon flavor was just tart enough to balance the sweetness of the strawberries, without taking over the whole muffin. A delightful breakfast treat, if I do say so myself.

I am enjoying one as we speak, actually,
Tina

One thought on “Strawberry Lemon Streusel Muffins

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

