Spicy Ginger Refrigerator Pickles

The older I get, the more I like vinegary things. If you pickle it, I will probably eat it – unless we’re talking about pickled beets, in which case you are crazy, and I’m sorry someone taught you that beets were acceptable to eat. My apologies on their behalf. You might noticed that I put pickled peppers on a lot of dishes – that little kick of vinegar (not to mention, the tiny bit of spice) just completes a dish for me. If you’ve ever watched a cooking competition show like Top Chef, or Next Iron Chef, or anything like that, and you’ve seen those pretentious, snotty judges saying things like “I just felt like it needed a little bit of acid, to brighten it up”? Yeah, that’s me. MORE VINEGAR, PLEASE.

Crist happened upon a recipe for spicy ginger refrigerator pickles on the ole internet, and sent it my way, knowing that ginger + vinegar + hot peppers all top my list of Delicious Foods I Would Like To Eat Every Day. She’s smart, that one. A quick trip to the store to pick up some pickling spice, and I was ready for pickle-makin’.

Spicy Ginger Refrigerator Pickles
slightly adapted from here

one 1-pint canning jar, with a snug-fitting lid
1 cup rice wine vinegar
1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup water
1 T soy sauce
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 T fresh ginger, peeled and minced
1 jalapeno pepper, sliced into rings, seeds removed
1 T pickling spices
2 t sugar
1/2 t salt
1 pound pickling cucumbers, sliced 1/8″ to 1/4″ thick*

*You should be able to find these right in the regular produce section of your grocery store. They’ll usually be labeled as “pickling cucumbers”, or sometimes just “pickles”. Pick ones that are firm, and pretty uniformly green; you want to avoid any with soft spots, or large yellow patches of skin.

1.) In a large liquid measure, mix together your rice wine vinegar, apple cider vinegar, and water, and set it aside.

2.) To your canning jar, add the soy sauce, garlic, jalapeno slices, pickling spices, sugar, salt, and ginger. Add about a 1/2 cup of your vinegar mixture, and stir everything together well.

3.) Add your pickle slices to the jar. You want them to be snug, but not packed in there; you need the pickling liquid to be able to circulate around all the pickles! Once the pickles are added, pour in more vinegar mixture until it comes up about 1/2″ from the top of the jar.

4.) Seal the jar tightly, and then place it in the fridge. Now comes the hard part: wait ONE WEEK before eating the pickles. Sit on your hands if you have to, but leave them alone for 7 days!

After a week, your pickles are ready to eat! I think next time I make them, I will add a little more ginger to them – we found them to be good and spicy, and nice and vinegary, but they didn’t really taste like GINGER. My husband and I both agreed that the combination of the ginger + the pickling spices just gave a warmth to the flavor, almost like pumpkin pie spice. Regardless, they were delicious! We ate them on their own, piled onto sandwiches, and in any other way we could come up with. We also ate the jalapeno slices – perfectly spicy and garlicky!

So, what OTHER things do you think I could pickle?
Tina

3 thoughts on “Spicy Ginger Refrigerator Pickles

    • That will never, ever happen. Ever.

      (The only way that would ever happen: If you make me peanut noodles during my next visit, I will make you pickled beets.)

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

