feta and black bean salsa.

I’m sick. Sneezing, sniffling, headachey, coughing – you name it, I’ve got it. So of course that means I have some big commitment ahead of me (see: Christmas dinner for my in-laws 2011). Our Rotary social is tonight and naturally, I’m in charge of the food. For 40 people. Superb.

I knew I wanted to make this salsa because not only is it easy and different, but it serves at least 30. When I threw it all together yesterday afternoon, Matt tasted it to see if I needed to season it and he declared it absolutely perfect. Actually the endorsement was, “give me a bowl of that, some tortilla chips, beer and the Carolina game and we’ll call that good.”

This could be easily halved and would travel well for a tailgate or other (upcoming ACK) holiday event. The sugar and apple cider vinegar make this a welcome change from your regular, boring salsa.

Feta and Black Bean Salsa.
via Fly Through Our Window

1/2 cup sugar
3/4 cup apple cider vinegar
3/4 cup vegetable oil
3 {15 oz} cans of black beans, drained and rinsed
3 {15 oz} cans of Shoepeg corn, drained and rinsed
1 bunch of scallions, chopped
1 bunch of cilantro, chopped
1 {8 oz} block feta cheese, crumbled

Whisk sugar, vinegar and oil in a large bowl. Add the black beans, corn, scallions, cilantro, and feta and mix well.

Chill until serving time. Serve with tortilla chips or corn chips.

Come on, you know I’m not letting you leave without some Gamecock propaganda… GO COCKS!
jcristg

 

One thought on “feta and black bean salsa.

  1. Pingback: chipotle-bbq meatballs. | The Dough Will Rise Again

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

