chipotle-bbq meatballs.

Aside from the feta-black bean salsa, the biggest hit at the Rotary social last week was these meatballs. People raved about them! I had to laugh because not only were these easy as can be, but it was the first time I’d actually tried the recipe. So it was a bit of a test to see how they would turn out. Fortunately for me, it sealed my place as #1 Social Chair (or maybe that’s not what I should strive for…).

Because I was making meatballs for 40, I used three bags of meatballs but only doubled the sauce. As you can see, it’s a good thing I didn’t try to triple the sauce as I was mostly out of room.

These will work well for upcoming Christmas parties, or for a tailgate. And don’t let them fool you: people preach whole foods all the live long day, but put some of these preservative-full treats in front of them and they will be ALL OVER THEM.

Chipotle-BBQ Meatballs
via My Recipes

1 (28-oz.) bottle barbecue sauce
1 (18-oz.) jar cherry preserves
3 canned chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, undrained
1 tablespoon adobo sauce from can
1 (32-oz.) package frozen meatballs

Whisk together first 4 ingredients and 1 1/2 cups water in a Dutch oven. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat. Add meatballs; return to a boil.
Reduce heat to medium, and simmer, stirring occasionally, 40 to 45 minutes. (Sauce will thicken.)

Serve in a slow cooker on warm.

Didn’t you know Gators wear jorts? GO COCKS,
jcristg

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

