sonoma chicken salad.

Do you ever make chicken salad? I find that most people don’t – and up until an old friend (hey Twitterless Kerri!) sent me this recipe a few months ago, I never did either. It would suit Matt to eat sandwiches for supper every night, so I’ve made this a couple of times to a warm reception. We’ve also had this at a tailgate in mini-sandwich form and it is perfect for a mid-day game.

I had an extra chicken breast leftover from an ill-fated supper earlier in the week, and decided to whip up a small batch of this chicken salad last night. I used what I had – a small amount of celery that had not yet wilted in my crisper, dried Michigan cherries in lieu of cranberries. And, of course I toasted the pecans. My poppy seeds have pulled a disappearing act in my pantry, so I obviously left those out too. I tossed some romaine with a little of the leftover dressing, topped with a scoop of chicken salad, and viola! Supper.

Sonoma Chicken Salad
adapted via Cooking Classy

3 1/2 cups cooked, shredded chicken (about 2 lbs boneless skinless chicken breasts)
1 cup diced celery (about 3 stalks)
2/3 cup toasted pecans, chopped
1/2 cup dried cherries
2 Tbsp finely grated Parmesan cheese

For dressing:
2/3 cup light mayonnaise
1/4 cup apple juice
3 tbsp honey
2 tsp apple cider vinegar
1 tsp prepared yellow mustard
1/2-1 tbsp poppy seeds
1/2 tsp onion powder
Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

In a large mixing bowl toss together shredded chicken, celery, pecans, dried cherries and Parmesan cheese, set aside.

In a separate mixing bowl whisk together all ingredients for the dressing, until well blended.

Pour dressing into chicken mixture a little at a time until you get the coverage you want. (I always find recipes to make more dressing than you actually need.) Refrigerate until ready to serve.

Go Cocks!
jcristg

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

