oven chicken risotto.

As has been well documented here, I love to make risotto. And more often than not, I love the whole process – the sauteing of the garlic or onion, the toasting of the rice, the soaking in the wine. The stirring. I’ve never thought it was all that cumbersome, or hard, to make risotto. It is all kind of therapeutic, really. You add small amounts of liquid to grains of rice and you can be guaranteed to have soft, creamy, deliciousness in 30-40 minutes! While drinking a glass or two of the leftover wine! What’s not to love?

You know, I almost didn’t post this recipe. It’s fantastic, don’t get me wrong…. and baked in the oven! Can you even imagine? But then I posted it to instagram and twitter, and the response back was nearly immediate. Apparently I was not the only one who couldn’t believe there was another way. And so I’m posting it for you, and I encourage you to give it a whirl. I’m not saying I won’t ever stand over the stove again, patiently stirring. But I am delighted to know that not only does this method work, but it yields a perfect risotto.

Oven Chicken Risotto.
via Southern Living

2 tbsp butter
3 cups chicken broth
1 cup uncooked Arborio rice
1/2 small onion, diced
1/2 tsp salt
2 cups chopped deli-roasted chicken
8 oz. fresh mozzarella cheese, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
1 cup grape tomatoes, halved
1/4 cup shredded fresh basil

Preheat oven to 400°. Place butter in a 13- x 9-inch baking dish; bake 5 minutes or until melted. Stir in broth and next 3 ingredients.

Bake, covered, at 400° for 35 minutes. (I baked mine uncovered. No one died.)
Remove from oven and fluff rice with a fork. Stir in chicken, mozzarella, and tomatoes; sprinkle with shredded basil.
Serve immediately.

I dare say (!) that this was too much cheese. I KNOW. I think I’d just do half next time I made this.

So there you have it. Whaddya think?

Bye week for the Gamecocks but be thinking about Marcus…
jcristg

2 thoughts on “oven chicken risotto.

  1. You just made my day! I, too, LOVE making risotto — but at 38-weeks pregnant, I have zero energy right now. I will be making this tonight!! Can’t wait!

    And my love goes out to Marcus. Poor thing.

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

