roasted shrimp.

Has anyone checked the weather for Michigan for the upcoming weekend? Bueller? Bueller? You may recall my January visit last year, which apparently fooled me into thinking that people exaggerated about the weather up there. It was mild and quite lovely, other than the one night of snow we got – more than enough to shut down Columbia for a few days, but a mere “dusting” to those Michiganders. It was pouring snow, and Christina was trying to get me out of the house to drive 30 miles to dinner and all I could think was that I didn’t want to die in a snowstorm. We persevered and I made it back to South Carolina in one piece. And then I was dumb enough to book another January trip — this time, apparently managing to hit a “real Michigan winter.” Excellent. All I’m saying is that I hope we all enjoy my second and last January trip to the Mitten because I’m sticking to the spring, summer and fall after this folks.

michigan winter

Anyway, my dear Rhiannon and I have been on the hunt for what we like to call “DUH suppers.” You know, the things you throw together randomly that turn out to be kind of really delicious. Things you see friends post on Instagram or blogs and say, duh why didn’t I think of that? Some nights you just don’t feel up to making a big production in the kitchen and just want something that satisfies without making a dishwasher full of dirty dishes. This is one of those recipes. Actually, when I told Tina I was posting this today, she couldn’t believe it had never hit the blog before – because I absolutely love to make these roasted shrimp. They’re good on salads, by themselves; as an appetizer or a main course. They work with fresh or – if you must – frozen shrimp.

ina's roasted shrimp cocktail.

Roasted Shrimp Cocktail
via Ina Garten

2 lbs. shrimp, peeled and deveined
olive oil
salt
pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Prepare a sheet pan with foil. In a small bowl, toss shrimp with enough oil to coat, and salt and pepper. Lay shrimp in one layer on the pan and roast 8-10 minutes, or until pink.

Now, that recipe I linked to has an Ina cocktail sauce that I’ve never made. But if her other sauces are any indication, it’s bound to be good.
Do you have any good DUH suppers? I need to hear them, if so.

Would it be too much to pack my electric blanket and then carry it with me everywhere we went?
jcristg

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

