Popovers

I’m sure it’s evident at this point, but I kind of love carbs. I kind of love carbs A WHOLE LOT. I think that one of the most delicious food combinations in the world is a big piece of bread (crispy, rustic, crust, soft and chewy inside) spread with a generous helping of (salted, for the love of all things holy) butter. Because my ability to restrain myself around bread products is limited, at best, I don’t often buy bread. I usually have english muffins in the fridge, as well as tortillas (both ideal for making quick “I really don’t want to cook, but shouldn’t order in” meals), but that’s about it. If I want bread, I will make it – throw together some biscuits for dinner, make a loaf of dutch oven bread when we’re having dinner guests, etc. Forcing myself to MAKE bread, rather than buying it, greatly reduces my bread consumption, because it’s not quite as easy to just grab some bread and shove it in my carb-hole.

Unfortunately, these popovers happen to fall into the category of “embarrassingly easy”. They literally take about 90 seconds of prep work, and then all you have to do is bake them! Given that I am unable to go back in time and un-know that these popovers are incredibly delicious, totally simple, and fairly impressive, I guess I’ll just have to work on my willpower. Or buy bigger pants.

Popovers

(If you are unfamiliar with popovers, they are these crazy little muffin-esque things that puff up a ton in the oven. They get nice and crispy on the outside, but the inside is really soft and buttery, with an almost custard-like texture. Of course, the ideal serving method is to slather some butter on them, since they’re not quite buttery enough on their own.)

Popovers
makes 12 mini popovers, or 6 big ones

2 large eggs
1/2 cup plus 2 T milk
1/2 cup plus 2 T all-purpose flour
2 T salted butter, melted
1/4 tsp salt

*I’ve been wanting a popover pan for a while, and I recently found one on clearance at Target for about $6, so I bought it. It’s totally fine if you don’t have one, just use a muffin tin (regular or mini size) instead.

1.) Preheat your oven to 400°. In a bowl, whisk all the ingredients together well.

2.) Grease your popover or muffin tin, and fill each well about 2/3 full. Bake for 20-25 minutes (longer if you’re making full-sized popovers), until significantly puffed, and golden brown.

Popovers

See? I told you they were easy.

I should be embarrassed to admit that my husband and I ate approximately 10 of these between the two of us, last time I made them… but I am not. They are that good, seriously. Alongside your dinner, they’re perfect spread with just a bit of butter; but, they would also make a lovely brunch component, served with a collection of toppings like different jams, whipped cream, nutella, peanut butter, fruit, mini chocolate chips, etc.

So, who wants to come over for Sunday brunch?
Tina

4 thoughts on “Popovers

  1. I am a closet popover fanatic. My mom used to make popovers all the time when we were kids. She used a Martha Washington mix but in Texas, they only have the cornbread version. Damn rednecks! 🙂 Can’t wait to try this – thanks for sharing!!

    • Popovers have always intimidated me, because I figured they just HAD to be complicated to turn out like that! But, SURPRISE! Super easy 🙂

  2. Pingback: Blackberry Honey Butter | The Dough Will Rise Again

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

