Sundried Tomato and Goat Cheese Burgers with Roasted Garlic Mayo

(Congrats to our giveaway winner, Ashley! And thanks to everyone who entered, and who follows the blog… we appreciate it so much! Ashley, don’t forget to email me this morning and let me know what prize you’d like!)

I’ve been thinking about this particular burger recipe for a while now. You see, I have this habit of dreaming up ideas for recipes I want to write and test at odd times (when I’m trying to fall asleep, when I’m sitting in traffic, when I’m switching out loads of laundry… I think about food a lot, okay??)… so, I keep an ongoing note on my phone, where I write out brief descriptions of my ideas, so I won’t forget them! When I am feeling uninspired, and need to do some meal planning, I open the note and pick one of the ideas to work on that week… and then I get to cooking!

Some random afternoon a while back, I decided that I needed to make a burger with sundried tomatoes and goat cheese, and last week, I did just that. And it was very, very good.

Sundried Tomato and Goat Cheese Burgers with Roasted Garlic Mayo

Sundried Tomato and Goat Cheese Burgers with Roasted Garlic Mayo
serves 4

For the mayo:
1 head garlic, roasted
1 clove garlic, raw
1/2 c mayo
zest of half a lemon
juice of half a lemon
pinch each of salt and pepper

For the burgers:
1 lb ground beef (I use 90/10)
1 small shallot, minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 t dijon mustard
2 t worcestershire sauce
1/2 c sundried tomatoes, chopped fine, divided (dry, not packed in oil)
1/2 t kosher salt
1/4 t black pepper
4 oz plain goat cheese, at room temp
4 buns of choice

1.) To make the mayo, start by roasting your whole head of garlic. Cut the top 1/3 of the bulb off, and place in the center of a square of foil; drizzle with 2 teaspoons of olive oil, and tightly pinch the foil closed. Place in a small ovenproof dish, and roast at 400° for about 40 minutes.

2.) When the garlic is roasted and cooled, squeeze the cloves from their skins. Add the roasted garlic, and all the other mayo ingredients, to a blender, and blend until smooth and creamy.

Roasted Garlic Mayo

3.) To make the burgers, place your ground beef into a large mixing bowl. Add the shallot, garlic, dijon, worcestershire, salt, pepper, and half the sundried tomatoes, and mix with your hands until everything is well combined. Be careful not to overmix! Shape into 4 equally sized patties.

4.) Heat a griddle or skillet over medium heat, and lightly spray with oil. When the pan is hot, add your burger, and cook for about 5 minutes on the first side.

5.) While the burgers cook on the first side, add your softened goat cheese, the second 1/4 cup of chopped sundried tomatoes, and a couple grinds of black pepper to a small bowl; use a rubber spatula to combine everything well. Shape the goat cheese mixture into 4 equal sized disks.

6.) Once you flip your burgers, let them cook for 2-3 minutes, and then place a goat cheese disk on top of each one. Loosely tent some foil over the top of the pan, and cook for another 2-3 minutes. (The goat cheese never really melts, it just softens… so don’t be shocked when you remove the foil tent to find that the goat cheese is still perfectly disk-shaped.)

7.) While your burgers finish cooking, spread both sides of your hamburger buns with the roasted garlic mayo. When the burgers are ready, load them on to the buns, and enjoy!

Sundried Tomato and Goat Cheese Burgers with Roasted Garlic Mayo

I really, really loved the combination of the tangy goat cheese, and the chewy, sweet sundried tomatoes in this burger. It was such a different, refreshing flavor combination, and it somehow kept the burgers feeling light, which doesn’t happen often with a burger! Definitely a combination I’ll be using often in the future.

The hamburger topping possibilites are endless,
Tina

2 thoughts on “Sundried Tomato and Goat Cheese Burgers with Roasted Garlic Mayo

  1. Pingback: Prosciutto Burgers with Hot Pepper Jelly and Brie | The Dough Will Rise Again

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

