warm potato salad with goat cheese.

Happy (rainy) Tuesday!

Matt and I have been patting ourselves on the back for the good meals we made this weekend. I’m lucky in that my husband loves to cook when he has time, and so we spent Saturday and Sunday nights each making a component for supper. It’s fun for us, though it does throw off our whole “you cook, I clean up” rule. On Saturday night, he cooked some chicken halves he’d had marinating since Friday and let me tell you, that boy can cook a barbecue chicken. Look at them!

matt's grilled chicken halves

I’d tell you how he did them but he won’t even tell me his secrets (though it does involve a Pee Dee bbq sauce most of you couldn’t find anyhow). Anyway, it was my job to make the sides and so I pulled out a recipe I’ve had pinned for ages and lo, it was a winner. A Make This Now sort of potato salad. I will say too, I had some the next day and it was just as good cold. Matt was shocked this potato salad didn’t have any mayonnaise in it; it was just as creamy and thick as if it did!

warm potato salad with goat cheese.

Warm Potato Salad with Goat Cheese.
via Martha Stewart

2 pounds red potatoes, scrubbed well and cut into 3/4-inch pieces
Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper
2 tbsp white wine vinegar (I used champagne vinegar because I was out of white wine vinegar)
1 tsp Dijon mustard
3 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
3 ounces crumbled goat cheese (1/2 cup)
1 celery stalk, finely chopped
1 small shallot, finely chopped
2 tbsp finely chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley, optional

Place potatoes in a pot and cover with water. Season liberally with salt and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer until tender, 10 to 12 minutes. Do not overcook (easy to do if distracted). Drain, reserving 1 tablespoon cooking liquid. Let potatoes cool for 5-10 minutes.

Whisk together vinegar, mustard, and reserved cooking liquid. Add oil slowly, whisking constantly until emulsified.

Transfer potatoes to a bowl, and toss with vinaigrette. Gently stir in goat cheese, celery, shallot, and parsley if using. Season with salt and pepper.

Do you cook with your significant other? Am I in the minority?
jcristg

2 thoughts on “warm potato salad with goat cheese.

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

