ina’s blueberry crumb cake.

A couple weekends ago, I got the baking bug. I don’t know what got into me! Matt was off hunting something and I had the house to myself with a pantry full of ingredients.  I pulled out some of my BFF Ina’s cookbooks and got to work. I love when berries are in season and you can pick up a couple packs for $5. Gone are the flavorless $5 pints that you have to be crazy to buy… hello, sweet, delicious, inexpensive berries! Welcome back into my kitchen.

Anyway, I deemed this crumb cake the greatest thing I’d ever made. Seriously. And it was easy to boot. Win!

you'd think i'd managed to get a better photo. but you'd be wrong.

you’d think i’d managed to get a better photo. but you’d be wrong.

Ina’s Blueberry Crumb Cake.
via Barefoot Contessa At Home (also on Food Network

For the streusel:
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup light brown sugar, lightly packed
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
1/4 pound (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour

For the cake:
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature (3/4 stick)
3/4 cup granulated sugar
2 extra-large eggs, at room temperature
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/2 tsp grated lemon zest
2/3 cup sour cream
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1 cup fresh blueberries

Preheat oven to 350, and butter and flour a 9-in baking dish.

Combine streusel ingredients in a medium bowl and set aside. (this makes almost too much streusel in my opinion. you’ll see.)

Cream the butter and sugar in your mixer on medium-high until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes. Reduce speed to low and add the eggs, one at a time. Add vanilla, sour cream and lemon zest, and mix until just combined. In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. (sift if you feel the urge. I never do.) Gradually add the flour to the bowl of the mixer, mixing until just combined. Remove mixing bowl from the mixer and fold in blueberries.

Spread batter in prepared baking dish, and top with streusel. Bake for 40-50 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool completely before serving.

This is wonderful. Make it this weekend… I just might make it again.

BEAT CLEMSONGO COCKS,
jcristg

One thought on “ina’s blueberry crumb cake.

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

