dijon crusted salmon.

I pin fish recipes all the time with the full intent to make them. And then, I just never do. I am particular about the kind of seafood I want – I’d rather have none than previously frozen or farm raised.  Fresh and wild-caught is where it’s at, friends. Don’t settle for mediocre seafood.

Anyway, I happened to see some wild-caught fresh Alaskan Coho salmon this weekend, and decided we’d have fish for supper. It was a nice treat and Matt and I both loved this.

dijon crusted salmon.

Dijon Crusted Salmon.
adapted from The Girl Who Ate Everything 

2 tbsp butter, melted
2 tbsp Dijon mustard
1 tbsp honey
1/8 cup dry bread crumbs
1/8 cup very finely chopped pecans
2 (6 ounce) fillets salmon
salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400 and prepare a small baking sheet with foil and quick spray of Pam. Place two fillets of salmon, skin side down, on the sheet.

In a small bowl, combine the butter, mustard and honey. In another small bowl, combine your bread crumbs and pecans. (pee-cans, say it with me.)

Brush a layer of the honey mustard on each piece of fish, season with salt and pepper, and top with breadcrumb/pecan topping.

Bake for 12-15 minutes, depending on the thickness of your fish, as well as your desired doneness.

This is an easy, quick way to prepare fish at home, and baking (as opposed to broiling) did not leave my kitchen smelling like fish for 4 days… which, let’s face it, is another reason I tend to stay away from cooking fish indoors. I do think you could get away with skipping the butter in this, if you were so inclined.

A brief post is better than none, right? I mean, you’re here for the food not the personality,
jcristg

6 thoughts on “dijon crusted salmon.

  1. I made this last night. It’s my family’s favourite salmon dish, except I use pistachios instead of pecans. The salmon is so moist and yummy and the dijon adds a good kick.

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

