Blackberry Honey Butter

One reason that I really love having weekends that are largely plan-free (besides the obvious: staying up late, sleeping in, staying in my pajamas all day if I feel like it), is because that tends to be when I come up with fun new recipe ideas. When life is busy and I’m constantly pressed for time, I tend to rely on my arsenal of tried and true recipes to get me through the week. But, when I have more free time, I just kind of let my brain wander… and eventually, a recipe just kind of creates itself in my head. My stream of consciousness is a never ending river of food items; I usually have a starting point (what kind of protein I want to use, something in my fridge that needs to be cooked ASAP, a flavor I’m craving, etc), and from there, potential food and flavor pairings just fly through my head until something sticks. I realize it sounds bizarre, but it’s true – I couldn’t make this stuff up if I tried!

Blackberry Honey Butter

Anyways, this past Sunday, I knew I wanted to make some popovers (primarily because I wanted to give them a test run using muffin tins, instead of legit popover pans). So, that’s where my brain started, and before long I had determined that I wanted to use up some blackberries that were on their last legs in the fridge… and then I thought I might need some honey, because the blackberries weren’t the sweetest to begin with. Then I realized that you can’t really have popovers without butter, and the next thing I knew… BLACKBERRY HONEY BUTTER.

Blackberry Honey Butter
makes about 1.5 cups, or enough for 12-18 popovers

3/4 stick salted butter, softened
1 1/2 T honey
1/3 cup blackberries, washed and dried

Blackberry Honey Butter

Combine all ingredients in a small bowl; work everything together with a rubber spatula until well combined. Spread liberally onto a warm popover (or pancakes, or english muffin, or bagel, or other carb source of your choosing).

Creamy butter, tart blackberries, sweet honey… yeah, this butter is just as amazing as it sounds. And not only is it delicious, but it feels really fancy and luxurious, even when your brunch plans consist of sweatpants and DVRed shows on the couch.

Spoiler alert: the popovers made in a muffin tin turned out wonderfully,
Tina

One thought on “Blackberry Honey Butter

  1. Pingback: Maple Candied Bacon | The Dough Will Rise Again

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

