Spicy Pickled Vegetable Hummus

As someone who really loves hummus, it’s kind of hard for me to believe that I’ve never made it before. Honestly, I think it’s mostly because, in my pre-dishwasher days, the idea of washing all 784 parts fo the food processor by hand made me die a little inside… and there is no hummus making without the food processor! (This is making me want to go lovingly caress my dishwasher, seriously.) Anyways, now that I have a machine to wash my dishes, using the food processor is no big deal – which means making hummus is about to become a regular occurrence in my household. So many flavors to try, so little time!

Spicy Pickled Vegetable Hummus

Spicy Pickled Vegetable Hummus
makes about 3 cups

1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1/4 cup tahini
1/2 cup hot pickled vegetables (giardiniera), drained
2 – 4 T pickled jalapeños
3 cloves garlic
1 tsp kosher salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
6 T olive oil

1.) To start, you want to remove the skins from the chickpeas. It’s a little tedious, but it’s really not that bad – just grab each chickpea, give it a little squeeze between your thumb and forefinger, and the skin will slide right off! You can skip this step, but I highly recommend it, as it results in a much smoother hummus.

Spicy Pickled Vegetable Hummus

2.) Throw everything but the olive oil into the food processor, and process until it’s relatively smooth, about 2 minutes. (I’d start on the lighter side with the jalapeños – taste as you go, and add more if you want more heat!)

3.) Scrape down the sides of the bowl. Start the food processor again, and slowly drizzle the olive oil through the feed tube, as the processor runs. Continue processing until the hummus is nice and smooth, stopping to scrape down the sides of the bowl again if necessary.

Spicy Pickled Vegetable Hummus

This hummus can be used in so many different ways – spread it on to a sandwich instead of mayo, serve it with pita chips, or (my personal favorite) dip your favorite cut up vegetables into it! It’s got a good bite from the vinegar, nuttiness from the tahini, and a spicy kick from the hot vegetables and jalapeños – hummus perfection, if you ask me.

Spicy Pickled Vegetable Hummus

(This hummus will last about a week in the fridge – just put it into an airtight container, or cover it with plastic wrap!)

What kind of hummus will I make next?
Tina

One thought on “Spicy Pickled Vegetable Hummus

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

