Chipotle Hummus with Smoky Baked Pita Chips

In recent weeks, I’ve been making a good deal of hummus. Since I finally a.) moved my food processor to a more accessible storage location, and b.) figured out how to use it to its full potential after 4 years of owning it (don’t ask – let’s just say I’m kind of an idiot), it’s so EASY to just pull the processor out, throw some chickpeas in, and then add whatever sounds delicious at that moment! I promise I will not bore you with a new hummus recipe every week – but whenever I find a particularly good one, I will definitely share it.

My very favorite hummus is from Trader Joe’s – their Chipotle Hummus. For years, I’ve been buying a tub or two every week, and my lunch at work often consists (in part) of a pile of hummus with some carrots and bell peppers. The slight spiciness of the hummus balances the sweetness of those vegetables quite well, and I have always thought it was a delicious combination. I suppose it was high time I made some chipotle hummus at home!

Chipotle Hummus with Smoky Baked Pita Chips

Chipotle Hummus with Smoky Baked Pita Chips
serves 6-8 as an appetizer

For the hummus:
1 can chickpeas, skins removed
1/4 cup tahini
juice of one lemon
3 cloves of garlic, smashed (less if you don’t like your hummus very garlicky)
1/2 tsp kosher salt
2oz chipotle sauce (or about 2 canned chipotles and their sauce)
1/4 cup (or more) olive oil

For the pita chips:
4 pitas, cut into 8 wedges each
kosher salt
smoked paprika
garlic powder
olive oil

1.) Preheat your oven to 375°. Lay your pita wedges on a foil-lined baking sheet in a single layer (use two sheets if you have to). Lightly mist them with olive oil (you can use a brush and brush the oil on if you want – just be sure to use a thin layer of oil, not too much). Sprinkle the pita wedges with the salt, smoked paprika, and garlic powder. Bake for about 12 minutes, until they’re golden brown and crispy.

Smoky Baked Pita Chips

2.) While the pita chips bake, throw your chickpeas, tahini, lemon juice, garlic, and kosher salt into the food processor. Turn the processor on, and as it grinds everything up, pour a tablespoon or two of olive oil down the feed tube (while it’s running), to help move things along. Scrape down the sides of the bowl as needed, until you have a fairly smooth mixture.

3.) Add the chipotle sauce, and continue to process. Pour another tablespoon or two of olive oil through the feed tube, until your hummus has reached your desired consistency. Taste it for heat – if you think it needs a little more spice, feel free to add some more chipotle sauce/peppers.

4.) Transfer the hummus to a bowl, and serve with the (cooled) pita chips, some cut up veggies, or whatever else sounds good to you!

Chipotle Hummus with Smoky Baked Pita Chips

The hummus will keep in the fridge for about a week, tightly covered. Later on this week, I’ll tell you about a delicious sandwich I came up with that is PERFECT with this hummus as a spread!

I have a small chickpea problem,
Tina

2 thoughts on “Chipotle Hummus with Smoky Baked Pita Chips

  1. I came across your blog on Pinterest (i think), ugh. I click on so many recipes, I sometimes forget. Anyways, I made this hummus and it rocks!! I have made many hummus recipes, and have been disappointed time and time again. My husband and son loved this, as did I. Super yummy! Love this blog.

    • Hey Greta! I’m so glad you enjoyed the hummus – it’s a favorite in my household! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

