Prosciutto-Wrapped Asparagus with Honey and Whole Grain Mustard Glaze

Asparagus is one of those vegetables I’ve just never really loved. It’s okay, and I’ll eat it – and depending on the preparation, sometimes I’ll even LIKE it. But, I just can’t get excited about asparagus! I buy it occasionally (typically when I come across a nice-looking bunch of very thin stalks), and I usually roast it with some olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and kosher salt… but, the last time I brought some asparagus home, I decided to dress it up a little. As I tend to do, I surveyed the contents of the fridge, brainstormed a little, and came up with a new recipe to try.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Asparagus with Honey and Whole Grain Mustard Glaze

Prosciutto-Wrapped Asparagus with Honey and Whole Grain Mustard Glaze
serves 2-4 as a side

one bunch of very thin asparagus, trimmed (about 30 stalks)
6 very thin slices of prosciutto
1 T whole grain mustard
1 T honey
1 T olive oil
kosher salt

1.) Preheat your oven to 400°. Line a rimmed baking sheet with foil, and place a baking rack inside the sheet. Divide the asparagus into 6 even piles, and wrap each one with a slice of prosciutto; lay the bundles seam side down on the baking rack.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Asparagus with Honey and Whole Grain Mustard Glaze

2.) In a small bowl, whisk together the whole grain mustard, honey, and olive oil. Lightly brush a thin layer of glaze over each bundle, then sprinkle them lightly with kosher salt.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Asparagus with Honey and Whole Grain Mustard Glaze

3.) Place the asparagus in the oven; after about 10-12 minutes, take the bundles out and brush them with the remaining glaze. Roast for another 10-12 minutes, until the prosciutto is crisp, and the asparagus is lightly browned. I finished mine with about 90 seconds under the broiler, to get a little extra crunchy, delicious, golden brown-ness going on. Serve immediately.

If you have trouble getting your children (or yourself?) to eat green vegetables? Make these. Right away. As I mentioned before, I am not the world’s biggest fan of asparagus – and I am not kidding you, my husband and I ALMOST got into a fist fight over the last asparagus bundle. (We ended up splitting it, like civilized adults, but he gave me the half with the crispy tops, because he’s smart and he knows better than to make the cook angry.) The sweet/salty combination of the prosciutto and honey is spot on, and the mustard gives a little tang, and has an earthiness that pairs really well with the asparagus.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Asparagus with Honey and Whole Grain Mustard Glaze

These little bundles would be great for a dinner party – they’re fancy looking, delicious, and they take about 14 seconds to put together. Everyone wins!

Is it Friday yet??
Tina

One thought on “Prosciutto-Wrapped Asparagus with Honey and Whole Grain Mustard Glaze

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...

