honey bbq meatloaf.

I’m kind of tired of summer. Is it even proper for a Southerner to admit that? It has not even been that miserably hot, I’ve spent more than my fair share of time at the beach, and on the whole, it’s just been a great season. But I’m done with it. I’m ready to not dread turning on my oven, for fear of my air conditioning never being able to catch up and cool the house back down. I’m ready to roast vegetables again. I’m ready to flip channels and find new shows, football, and to finally move past the gazillion reruns of Storage Wars that I’ve already seen. Twice.

And so I made meatloaf and roasted carrots. In August. Sue me.

Honey BBQ Meatloaf.
via Can You Stay for Dinner?

1 lb 90% lean ground beef
1 slice white bread, ground to crumbs in food processor
2 tbsp + 2 tsp worcestershire sauce
1 tbsp spicy brown mustard
3/4 cup bbq sauce, divided
2 tbsp honey, divided
1 tsp salt
1 tsp black pepper

Preheat oven to 350.

In a large bowl mix 2 tbsp worcestershire sauce, 1/2 cup of bbq sauce, 1 tbsp honey, fresh bread crumbs, salt and pepper. Add beef and combine ingredients.

Shape the mixture into a long, thick log and place in an oiled baking dish. Be careful not to pack the meat too tightly or you’ll end up with a very dense, tough loaf.

In a small bowl, whisk together the remaining 1/4 cup bbq sauce, 1 tbsp honey, and 2 tsp worcestershire sauce. Spread half of this mixture evenly all over the meatloaf. Reserve the other half for serving. (or, just top the meatloaf with all of it. No one’s looking.)

Bake for 45 minutes.

I bet you are thinking: no egg, no cheese – what gives? Tina and I wondered the same thing. But it was perfect and delicious.

My meatloaf didn’t look as pretty as hers though; I can promise you THAT,
jcristg

5 thoughts on “honey bbq meatloaf.

  1. Pingback: meal planning. | The Dough Will Rise Again

  2. Pingback: mini honey mustard and white cheddar meatloaves. | The Dough Will Rise Again

you don't have to burn atlanta to make a statement...